Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Opera Libretti

Opera Libretti

Beethoven | Bellini | Berg | Berlioz | Bizet | Cavalieri | Cavalli | Clerambault | Debussy | Donizetti | Falla | Gluck | Gounod | Granados | Hallstrom | Handel | Hartke | Haydn | Kalman | Leoncavallo | Mascagni | Massenet | Mercadante | Meyerbeer | Monteverdi | Mozart | Pacius | Petitgirard | Portugal | Puccini | Purcell | Rachmaninov | Rossini | Sacchini | Strauss Johann II | Verdi | Wagner Richard | Wagner Siegfried | Walton | Weber
La vida breve
Title Page
Act I
Act II
Vida breve, La (The Short Life)
  • Manuel de Falla. Lyric drama in two acts. 1905.
  • Libretto by Fernández Shaw.
  • First performance at the Municipal Casino, Nice, on 1st April 1913.
Salud, a gypsy girl soprano
Paco, her lover tenor
Her Grandmother mezzo-soprano
Uncle Sarvaor bass
Carmela, Paco's bride mezzo-soprano
Manuel, her brother baritone

Salud and Paco are lovers, but he agrees to marry a girl of his own richer class, Carmela. The wedding takes place, observed, from the street, by Salud. Her uncle Sarvaor offers to entertain the wedding-guests and Salud comes forward to accuse Paco, before falling down dead.

De Falla's opera is set in Granada and includes a series of dances that have appeared in a number of arrangements, notably, in the case of the first dance, that for violin and piano by Fritz Kreisler. Orchestral excerpts include the prelude and one or more dances.


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
9:11:06 PM, 26 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.