Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Opera Libretti

Opera Libretti

Beethoven | Bellini | Berg | Berlioz | Bizet | Cavalieri | Cavalli | Clerambault | Debussy | Donizetti | Falla | Gluck | Gounod | Granados | Hallstrom | Handel | Hartke | Haydn | Kalman | Leoncavallo | Mascagni | Massenet | Mercadante | Meyerbeer | Monteverdi | Mozart | Pacius | Petitgirard | Portugal | Puccini | Purcell | Rachmaninov | Rossini | Sacchini | Strauss Johann II | Verdi | Wagner Richard | Wagner Siegfried | Walton | Weber
Wagner Richard
Die Feen
Act I
Act II
Feen, Die (The Fairies)
  • Richard Wagner. Tragedia lirica in three acts. 1834.
  • Libretto by the composer, after Gozzi's La donna serpente (The Serpent Woman).
  • First performance at the Königliches Hof-und Nationaltheater, Munich, on 29th June 1888.

Prefiguring Lohengrin, Ada, half fairy, half mortal, marries Arindal, King of Tramond, who is told not to ask her name. He asks, however, and her magic kingdom disappears. To rejoin him, she must try him in a series of tests in which he is unsuccessful, leaving her turned to stone for a hundred years. Like Orpheus he brings her to life from the underworld by the power of music and lives with her thereafter in fairyland.

Wagner's first opera follows the tradition of German romantic magic opera, established by Weber and Marschner, successfully enough, although this was not a path that he was to pursue. The work was first performed in Munich five years after his death.


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
1:40:43 AM, 2 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.