Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search


The Late Romantics: Bruckner & Mahler

Bruckner and Mahler are the frequently-paired giants of Romantic symphonic writing, yet their music could scarcely be more different. Bruckner created a very personal style expressing immense struggle, tragedy and ultimate triumph across a vast musical timescale. Despite the enormous size of the late Romantic orchestra, Bruckner also revels in the intimacy of chamber music-style instrumental groupings, giving even his grandest symphonies moments of magical clarity. His grandly arching melodies seem to yearn for sublimity. Conductor Georg Tintner brought a lifetime of experience, and an abiding love of this repertoire, to bare on his Naxos recordings.

Mahler expands the scope of the symphony even further - he famously argued with Sibelius that a symphony should contain the universe - and he created an unmistakably modern musical language by including sounds from the ‘outside world’, using cowbells, military band music, uncommon wind instruments, mandolins and guitars, even vocal soloists and chorus. His 8th symphony is known as the ‘Symphony of a Thousand’ because of the huge performing forces it requires. Yet, again, Mahler also evokes tender intimacy and humanity among the tumult.

Page of :  

See Symphonies on Naxos I

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
6:57:00 PM, 10 February 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.