Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search

JOIN RICCARDO MUTI AND THE CSO FOR THE VERDI 200TH BIRTHDAY SPECTACULAR, FEATURING THE REQUIEM. Though the performance at Symphony Center is sold out, audiences around the globe can still get a “free seat” to the Verdi 200th Birthday Spectacular, a culmination of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s celebration of the bicentennial of the incomparable Italian composer Giuseppe Verdi.

The event will take place on the evening of Thursday, October 10, 2013 – 200 years to the day that Verdi was born. CSO Music Director Riccardo Muti, who is considered to be the world’s greatest living interpreter of Verdi’s music, will lead the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chorus in a special one-night-only performance of Verdi’s Requiem Mass at Symphony Center. The Requiem is one of Verdi’s most striking choral works, and one that portrays all aspects of humanity. As Riccardo Muti has said, “Everybody can … see themselves in the music of Verdi. With his music, he translated the feelings of all of us.”

To celebrate the Verdi bicentennial with people around the world, the CSO is offering a free live webcast of the Verdi 200th Birthday Spectacular featuring the Requiem.

7:30 p.m. CDT U.S. (GMT -5) on Thursday, October 10, 2013.
(Find the time of the performance in your time zone here.)

Online, the Requiem performance can be viewed live below:

Check back here on October 10, 2013, 7:30 p.m. CDT U.S (GMT -5) for the live feed

Verdi 200th Birthday Spectacular
Verdi Requiem Mass

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Riccardo Muti, conductor
Tatiana Serjan, soprano
Daniela Barcellona, mezzo-soprano
Mario Zeffiri, tenor
Ildar Abdrazakov, bass
Chicago Symphony Chorus
Duain Wolfe, chorus director

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:57:50 PM, 1 June 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.