Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search

With a rich history, the wind band is the ensemble of the future, eagerly embracing new composers, while respecting the trailblazers that came before. The wide range of literature presented in Naxos’ Wind Band Classics shows the medium's flexibility and potential for limitless tonal colours. This innovative ongoing series features some of the world's greatest wind ensembles, including ‘The President’s Own’ United States Marine Band, performing both new works and old standards. Works from classic greats like Giannini, Persichetti, Sousa, Schoenberg, Stravinsky and Copland sit alongside new-school contemporaries such as John Mackey, David Gillingham, John Colgrass, David Holsinger and David Maslanka.

“[W]e're treated to a very satisfying, first-rate wind band experience…”

-- ClassicsToday

8.570074 MACKEY: Redline Tango / MOWER: Flute Concerto / PANN: Slalom
8.570130 GIANNINI: Symphony No. 3 / Dedication Overture / Variations and Fugue
8.570242 ORFF: Carmina Burana Suite / BIRD: Serenade / REED: La fiesta mexicana
8.570244 COLGRASS: Winds of Nagual / DVORAK: Serenade / GILLINGHAM: No Shadow of Turning
8.570123 PERSICHETTI: Divertimento / Masquerade / Parable IX
8.570403 COLLAGE - A Celebration of the 150th Anniversary of the Peabody Institute, 1857-2007
  back to top

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:45:01 AM, 27 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.