Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search

Principal Conductor of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra since 2002, Marin Alsop takes up her position as Music Director of the Baltimore Symphony in 2007/8 – the first woman to head a major American orchestra.

Alsop won the Royal Philharmonic Society Conductor of the Year award in 2002 and BBC Radio 3 Listeners’ Award in 2006, and was named The Gramophone magazine’s “Artist of the Year” in 2003. Her recordings for Naxos include the Brahms Symphonies and Overtures with the London Philharmonic, the complete orchestral works of Samuel Barber with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, and Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony with the Colorado Symphony. Acclaimed recordings for Naxos with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra include works by Bernstein, John Adams, Philip Glass, Bartók and Kurt Weill. Alsop’s latest release is 8.559325 Glass: Heroes Symphony.

Hear the Alsop sound. Experience true orchestral tour de force.

“…Alsop gets right to the heart of the ingenious music, which deserves to be as well known to American audiences as any European violin concerto. The conductor illuminates the multiple layers of Bernstein's intense, haunting ballet Facsimile and revels in the prismatic coloring and wit of his late-career Divertimento. Hot stuff.”
– Baltimore Sun on 8.559245 BERNSTEIN: Serenade / Facsimile / Divertimento

8.559325 GLASS: Heroes Symphony
8.559088 BARBER: Cello Concerto / Medea Suite / Adagio for Strings
8.559134 BARBER: Knoxville: Summer of 1915 / Essays for Orchestra Nos. 2 and 3
8.559024 BARBER: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 / Essay for Orchestra No. 1
8.559177 BERNSTEIN: Chichester Psalms / On the Waterfront
8.557428 BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1 / Tragic Overture / Academic Festival Overture
8.557430 BRAHMS: Symphony No. 3 / Haydn Variations
8.559202 GLASS, P.: Symphonies Nos. 2 and 3
NA331012 HENLEY: Story of Classical Music (The)
8.570033 ORFF: Carmina Burana
8.555714 TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4 / Romeo and Juliet
8.557481 WEILL: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 / Lady in the Dark - Symphonic Nocturne
8.559031 ADAMS: Shaker Loops / Wound Dresser / Short Ride in a Fast Machine
8.559135 BARBER: Capricorn Concerto / A Hand of Bridge / Canzonetta / Intermezzo
8.559044 BARBER: Violin Concerto / Serenade for Strings / Souvenirs
8.559133 BARBER: Piano Concerto / Die Natali / Medea's Meditation
8.557433 BARTOK: Miraculous Mandarin (The) (Complete Ballet) / Hungarian Pictures / Dance Suite
8.559245 BERNSTEIN: Serenade / Facsimile / Divertimento
8.557429 BRAHMS: Symphony No. 2 / Hungarian Dances
8.559165 DAUGHERTY: Philadelphia Stories / UFO
8.559227 HARRIS, R: Symphonies Nos. 3 and 4
8.559281 HERSCH: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 / Fracta / Arrache
8.557760 TAKEMITSU: Orchestral Works
8.559167 TORKE: Rapture / An American Abroad / Jasper

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
12:36:04 PM, 30 November 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.