Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > UK > Press Reviews 2011


December 2011

RIMSKY-KORSAKOV The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh

‘Tatiana Monogarova is very fine as Fevronya – it’s hard to think of who might sing it better these days – and the tenor Vitaly Panfilov makes a decent Vsevolod.  For anyone who doesn’t know this remarkable work, it’s a must-buy at a bargain price.’
-The Guardian, G2, 23rd March 2012

The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh is perhaps the most unusual of Russian Romantic operas with its intensely spiritual content.  It’s also the most lyrically beautiful…These are murderously difficult roles, but Tatiana Monogarova is just about the best Fevronia I’ve seen, vocally clear and sturdy.’
-Michael Scott Rohan, BBC Music Magazine, April 2012


8.572832 PHILIPS Cantiones Sacrae Quinis et Octonibus Vocibus
‘Far less well known than Byrd and Tallis, the Catholic Peter Philips (c.1560-1628) wrote expressive, intricate polyphony perhaps inspired by his stay in Rome…This music is difficult to balance well, but the Sarum Consort, with one voice to a part, achieves plangent harmony, especially in the glorious eight-voice, two-choir motet Ave Regina caelorum. Another advance in our understanding of the rich British choral repertory.’
-Nicholas Kenyon, The Observer, 15th January 2012


8.572580 BOWEN Viola Sonatas Nos. 1 & 2; Phantasy
‘Matthew Jones and Michael Hampton’s enthusiastic and sympathetic performances bring out Bowen’s style in spades, especially in the slower central movements, and Jones’s generous tone is admirable well suited to this brazenly Romantic repertoire, especially in the lyrical parts of the later and more mature Phantasy of 1918, above all in the wonderful Poco adagio, where the sense of control is particularly persuasive and affecting.’
-Jeremy Dibble, Gramophone, March 2012

‘The performances are stellar.  Viola player Matthew Jones spins a web of ceaseless, mesmerising musicianship that draws the ear unerringly into every phrase.  Pianist Michael Hampton matches him for skill.’
-Malcolm Hayes, BBC Music Magazine, January 2012


8.572787 RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Orchestral Suites

In the musical picture Sadko as much as in the suites from the operas The Snow Maiden, Mllada and The Golden Cockerel, Gerard Schwarz and the Seattle Symphony conjure up a scintillating aura of the myth, magic and melodic allure that are fundamental to Rimsky-Korsakov’s style.  There is plenty of energy coupled with subtlety in conveying a radiant spectrum of instrumental colours’.
-Geoffrey Norris, The Daily Telegraph, 26th November 2011




Gift Ideas from Naxos
Complete Symphonies Box Sets
The Very Best Of...
Chill With
Naxos Highlights

2014 Press Reviews
2013 Press Reviews
2012 Press Reviews
2011 Press Reviews
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
2010 Press Reviews
2009 Press Reviews
2008 Press Reviews

Naxos in a Nutshell
Naxos News

Marco Polo
Naxos Historical
Naxos World
Naxos Jazz
Naxos Jazz Legends
Naxos Audiobooks
Naxos / Marco Polo DVD

Contact Us
Music Licensing
Buy Online

January 2010
February 2010


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
7:47:06 AM, 2 February 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.