Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Naxos Books > Stravinsky: Down a Path of Wonder

Stravinsky: Down a Path of Wonder
Memoirs of Stravinsky, Schoenberg and other cultural figures
by Robert Craft

560 pages
13-digit ISBN: 978-1-84379-217-8
10-digit ISBN: 1-84379-217-6

Buy this book from Buy this book from

Robert Craft met Stravinsky by invitation in 1948, after nearly four years of letter correspondence with the composer. It was this close association that steered Craft into a stimulating world of leading composers, writers and artists.

At virtually the same time that he became a member of the Stravinsky household, Craft, aged twenty-four, discovered the ‘path of wonder’ created by Arnold Schoenberg.  In 1950 the young conductor sought instruction from Schoenberg in the performance of his music, and maintained a friendship with him that became increasingly cordial until the week of the composer’s death a year later. ‘Remembering Schoenberg’, the first chapter of Down a Path of Wonder, charts with charm the development of this mutual understanding and friendship.

Craft’s musical observations are pertinent and witty, and it is music that underpins this collection of memoirs. However, his descriptions of Stravinsky’s collaborator-friends, such as George Balanchine, T.S. Eliot, W.H. Auden, Aldous Huxley and other Makers of the Twentieth Century, also provide a fascinating contribution to the intellectual and cultural history of our era.

Craft’s travel diaries, forming the final part of this book, focus on Italy, Seville and Cambodia; they are similarly insightful, colourful and edifying.

Down a Path of Wonder is a unique and truly compelling perspective on the post-Second World War artistic world – and beyond.

Review: Words fail them
By Andrew Clark, Financial Times

Published: November 17 2006 13:53

The assumption behind any work of art is that it will spark a response. The artist is inviting us not just to consume the product of his or her imagination but to use ours. But how much does our knowledge of the artist influence our response? The less information we are fed about the art and its creator, the less processed our responses will be. If we have no prior information, we can’t read anything extra-artistic into it: it has the opportunity to speak “purely”.

Read the full review

From reviews on Robert Craft’s previous books:

"[Robert Craft] stylishly mixes travel observations, historical essays, and remembered conversations… If you like his meticulous and well-stocked mind as much as I do, you’ll eventually want to read everything he’s written."
- Michael Dirda, Washington Post

"Craft proves again that he is not only compassionate and sometimes wickedly funny, but the most readable and intelligent living writer on music."
- The New Republic

Available from October 2006 from all good bookshops in the UK, Australia & New Zealand

*Not yet available in the US

My First Orchestra Book

Life and Music
Beethoven: His Life and Music
Chopin: His Life and Music
Dvořák: His Life and Music
Haydn: His Life and Music
Mahler: His Life and Music
Mendelssohn: His Life and Music
Mozart: His Life and Music
Puccini: His Life and Music
Tchaikovsky: His Life and Music
Wagner: His Life and Music

Discover Series
Discover Early Music
Discover Music of the Baroque Era
Discover Music of the Classical Era
Discover Music of the Romantic Era
Discover Music of the 20th Century

Children's Titles
My First Classical Music Book
My First Orchestra Book
Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra!

Other Titles
A History of American Classical Music
Stravinsky: Discoveries and Memories
Stravinsky: Down a Path of Wonder

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
9:20:53 PM, 7 October 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.