Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

Maestra – Marin Alsop Leads The Baltimore Symphony

January 8, 2008

By Alex Ross
The New Yorker, January 7, 2008

“DON’T LET HISTORY PASS YOU BY!” proclaims a banner hanging outside Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall, in Baltimore. The history in question belongs to Marin Alsop, who took over as the music director of the Baltimore Symphony last September, thereby becoming the first woman ever to lead a major American orchestra. Or so some say. A recent front-page story in the Buffalo News declared that the Buffalo Philharmonic—a seasoned, skilled, and not exactly minor group—made this history back in 1998, when it hired the conductor JoAnn Falletta. The League of American Orchestras, asked to adjudicate the dispute, noted that orchestra insiders use the word “major” to indicate an ensemble that plays year round: Baltimore does, Buffalo does not. Whatever the outcome of that controversy, female conductors remain embarrassingly rare. The problem isn’t that misogyny runs rampant in the music world; it’s that the classical business is temperamentally resistant to novelty, whether in the form of female conductors, American conductors, younger conductors, new music, post-1900 concert dress, or concert-hall color schemes that aren’t corporate beige.  The New Yorker 01/07/08

Continue Reading MAESTRA. Marin Alsop leads the Baltimore Symphony


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
7:09:27 PM, 1 February 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.