Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

More Stokowski

September 22, 2008

Conductor José Serebrier and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra have completed their series of Stokowski’s transcriptions for Naxos. The final sessions included Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D minor, the Chaconne in D minor and the Chorale Prelude “Christ lag in Todesbanden”. The team’s previous releases are of more Bach transcriptions, Mussorgsky transcriptions and Wagner “Symphonic Syntheses”, the latter commended by Gramophone’s Edward Greenfield as “thrilling performances, passionate in a genuinely Stokowskian manner and treated to orchestral sound of demonstration quality”.

- Gramophone, September 2008


MUSSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition (orchestrations compiled by Slatkin)/LISZT: Piano Concerto No. 1
Peng Peng, piano
Nashville Symphony Chorus; Nashville Symphony Orchestra
Slatkin, Leonard

Other Stokowski Transcriptions recordings also available:

5.110101 (DVD) MUSSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition/Boris Godunov
6.110101 MUSSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition/Boris Godunov
8.111297 BACH: Stokowski Transcriptions (1927-1939)
8.557645 MUSSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition/Boris Godunov
8.557883 BACH/PURCELL/HANDEL: Stokowski Transcriptions
8.570293 WAGNER: Symphonic Syntheses by Stokowski


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
10:18:24 AM, 25 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.