Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

National Ballet of Canada to perform full-length ballet version based on Bizet/Serebrier Carmen Symphony

May 10, 2013

The very title conjures up images of sultry, physical passion, unleashed emotions and anguished eroticism. Davide Bombana’s 2006 one-act interpretation of the Carmen story, so familiar to audiences through Bizet’s opera, brought all of these qualities to the stage in an unforgettable flourish of dazzling balletic intensity.

Now the always provocative Italian choreographer has expanded his earlier version into a full-length work, allowing for further dramatic definition, greater theatrical scope and a broader platform for his dance ideas. Where the earlier adaptation acted as a distillation of the narrative and its principle themes, the full-length version gives freer play to the story and characters, while never sacrificing the unflinching carnality and essentially tragic vision that pulsate at its heart.

Set largely to José Serebrier’s evocative Carmen Symphony after Bizet, the new version is a major ballet artist’s re-visioning of both his own work and one of the great classic stories of passion and doomed love.

Source: The National Ballet of Canada

Fine recordings of the Bizet/Serebrier Carmen Symphony are available on Naxos and BIS.

BIZET/SEREBRIER Carmen Symphony & other works
Naxos 8.570727


Carmen Ballet

National Ballet of Canada
The Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts, Toronto, Canada

Performance Schedule:

June 5 Wednesday 7:30pm
June 6 Thursday 2pm / 7:30pm
June 7 Friday 7:30pm
June 8 Saturday 2pm / 7:30pm
June 9 Sunday 2pm
June 15 Saturday 7:30pm
June 16 Sunday 2pm


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
1:09:10 PM, 13 February 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.