Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

An Acclaimed Conductor with a Sense of Fun – Morten Schuldt-Jensen Talks to Jeremy Siepmann

January 1, 2011

As befits conductors of distinction, Morten Schuldt-Jensen is an all-rounder, his tastes ranging as widely as his approaches to performance. Equally comfortable and accomplished in both choral and orchestral conducting, he found his professional feet, as it were, at the Royal Danish Academy of Music, prior to earning a Masters degree in musicology at the University of Copenhagen. His acclaimed Naxos recordings over the last few years bear witness to his range, embracing vocal music by Domenico Scarlatti, symphonies by J.C.F. Bach and choral and orchestral music by Haydn and Mozart, as well as a complete cycle of the great masses of Schubert.  Now an artist, scholar and esteemed academic, he began his professional life as a singer—a fact which initially determined his direction as a conductor: ‘The orchestra was not a realistic option at that point because I didn’t play a single orchestral instrument, so I had no experience of playing in an orchestra. It was an easy matter, though, to assemble a choir of my co-students and singer friends, and that was how I began my career as a choral specialist (choral conducting, as I then believed, requiring no more than a good voice!)’.
Read the Interview


Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
9:18:16 AM, 28 February 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.