Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search

   Classical Music Home > Catalogue list by Genre

Catalogue list by Genre

Classical Music | Contemporary Jazz | Jazz | Folk Legends | Blues | Nostalgia | World | Contemporary Instrumental | Chinese Music | Spoken Word | App | Christian | Christian Rock
Ballet | Chamber Music | Choral - Sacred | Choral - Secular | Concertos | Film and TV Music | Instrumental | Interview | Musicals | Opera | Orchestral | Spoken Commentary | Vocal | Vocal Ensemble | Wind Ensemble/Band Music

Classical Music > Concertos

These are works for one or more solo instruments and orchestra. The most famous of all concertos is Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, actually a set of four concertos each devoted to one season. Most great composers have written concertos, with Vivaldi and Mozart being the most prolific – Vivaldi wrote hundreds of concertos for many different instruments and string orchestra and Mozart wrote 27 piano concertos and five violin concertos. In the 19th century, many instrumental virtuosos wrote concertos as vehicles for their own performances; Paganini wrote six violin concertos, Liszt wrote two piano concertos and Chopin wrote two as well. The most popular piano concerto of all is probably that written by Tchaikovsky, who also wrote one of the most popular violin concertos.

0-9    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P     Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z   

[ 1 | 2 ]

Title Catalogue No.
PROKOFIEV / GRUENBERG: Violin Concertos (Heifetz) (1937, 1945) 8.110942
PROKOFIEV, S.: Oboe Quintet, Op. 39 / Overture on Hebrew Themes / JANACEK, L.: Youth Suite (Linos Ensemble) C10576
PROKOFIEV, S.: Piano Concerto No. 2 (Bolet, T. Johnson) (1953) 9.80613
PROKOFIEV, S.: Piano Concerto No. 3 / KHACHATURIAN, A.I.: Piano Concerto (Kapell) (1946, 1949) 8.110673
PROKOFIEV, S.: Piano Concertos Nos. 1, 3 and 4 (Mustonen, Finnish Radio Symphony, Lintu) ODE1244-2
PROKOFIEV, S.: Piano Concertos Nos. 1, 3 and 4 (Paik, Polish National Radio Symphony, Wit) 8.550566
PROKOFIEV, S.: Symphony-Concerto in E Minor / MERIKANTO, A.: Cello Concerto No. 2 (Gustafsson) ODE861-2
PROKOFIEV, S.: Symphony-Concerto in E Minor, Op. 125 / Romeo and Juliet Suite No. 1 (YuJeong Lee) SM171
PROKOFIEV, S.: Violin Concerto No. 2 / BARTOK, B.: Viola Concerto / VIVALDI, A.: Concerto for 2 Cellos in G Minor (Brazilian Festival 88) DE1018
PROKOFIEV, S.: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 / Sonata for 2 Violins in C Major, Op. 56 (Berman, Tifu) CDS676
PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Vision Fugitives (Prokofiev) (1932, 1935) 8.110670
PROKOFIEV: Piano Concertos Nos. 2 and 5 8.550565
PROKOFIEV: Sergey Prokofiev - A Portrait (HART) 8.558202-03
PROKOFIEV: Symphony-Concerto / Cello Concertino / Pushkin Waltzes 8.553624
PROKOFIEV: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 AR-0020-2
PROKOFIEV: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 / Sonata in D Major 8.553494
PULKKIS, U.: Tales of Joy, Passion and Love / On the Crest of Waves / Verna Bloom (Kriikku, Tampere Philharmonic, Lintu) ODE1176-2
PUTS, K.: Symphony No. 2 / Flute Concerto (A. Walker, Peabody Symphony, Alsop) 8.559794

[ 1 | 2 ]

Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group