^ Back to Top
^ Back to Discography
Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search


The Bavarian Classical Players bring together leading members of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra in Munich. The orchestra itself was established in 1949 under Eugen Jochum, who held the position of principal conductor until 1960 and brought in leading players from the Koeckert and Freund Quartets as principals. From 1961 to 1979 he was followed by Rafael Kubelík. Kirill Kondrashin was appointed principal conductor for the 1982/1983 season, but in 1981 died in Amsterdam of a heart attack. After a two-year search Sir Colin Davis became principal conductor from 1983 to 1993, followed, from 1993 to 2002, by Lorin Maazel. Mariss Jansons took over at the beginning of the 2003/2004 season. The orchestra enjoys a reputation as one of the best in Germany and in 2006 won a Grammy® for best orchestral performance.

Role: Orchestra 
Album Title
Catalogue No  Work Category 

 View Albums

 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page Del.icio.us. |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
11:12:09 AM, 30 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.