Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
in
 
 Classical Music Home > Naxos Album Reviews

Album Reviews



 
See latest reviews of other albums...

Ralph Moore
MusicWeb International, March 2010

A grander, more spacious and slightly less detailed account is provided by Disc G but the extraordinary depth and richness of the recorded sound almost carries the day. In this more leisurely approach (22:58), everything is carefully weighed, beautifully balanced and executed in thrilling high definition; this is a big, blowsy, sonic spectacular which nonetheless encompasses the moments of sweetness and regret. The slightly more deliberate tempo, in combination with the subtle anticipation of the first beat in those oddly disconcerting 5/8 bars, create more tension and menace than we encounter in the more restrained beat in disc F, and the extra two minutes taken serve to intensify a sense of finality as the music dwindles to its hushed close.



Bruce Surtees
The WholeNote, February 2009

For many classical music lovers who listen to FM radio, WBEN-FM is the station of choice. I listen to it in my car and recently I heard, not on the same day, outstanding performances of two long time favourites, Tchaikovsky’s Manfred Symphony and Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances, opus 45. I sat in my driveway waiting for the extras to identify the recordings. As it turned out, they were both Naxos. Tchaikovsky was played by the Liverpool Philharmonic under Vasily Petrenko (8.570568) and the Rachmaninov featured the Royal Philharmonic conducted by Enrique Batiz (8.550583). I acquired both discs and found them to be all that I expected both in the high octane performances and wide-open, dynamic sound. I recommend them enthusiastically.



BBC Music Magazine, January 2009

…at this price there is little excuse not to investigate. A genuine bargain…



Classic CD, January 2009

An ideal way to explore these interesting works.



Rachmaninoff Society, January 2009

Batiz obviously has a feel for Rachmaninoff’s music.



Fanfare, January 2009

If you’d care to sample these pieces via Batiz (at Naxos prices, it’s hard to go wrong), you just might find yourself with performances that don’t need to be replaced later on.




Penguin Guide, January 2009

Bátiz gives the Symphonic Dances an attractively spontaneous performance, full of lyrical intensity, with some splendid playing from the RPO strings. The vivid recording helps give the feeling that Bátiz almost goes over the top in his extremely passionate climax for The Isle of the Dead. The performance certainly does not lack darker feelings, and at super-bargain price this remains well worth considering.



American Record Guide, January 2009

…one of the best versions available at any price…



CD Review, December 1992

…the recording in outstandingly good.








Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
5:38:11 PM, 26 October 2014
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2014 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
-212-
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.