Sign up for newsletters, get FREE downloads, exclusive offers and more.
Naxos Books and Ebooks
Discover Classical Music of the 20th Century

Discover Classical Music of the 20th Century

  • 13-digit ISBN: 978-1-84379-268-0
  • Barcode: 9781843792680
  • Approximate length: 20,000 words
  • Formats: iPad/iPhone (enhanced), Kindle, Nook, Kobo

Even at the beginning of the new millennium, the words ‘twentieth-century music’ often inspire apprehension in audiences. While composers like Debussy, Vaughan Williams and Stravinsky have become concert-hall favourites, others such as Schoenberg, Boulez and Takemitsu are too often regarded as strange and unapproachable. Discover Classical Music of the 20th Century is a comprehensive and easily digestible guide, leading us through the diverse, innovative and controversial musical history of this era. By describing the many different musical styles that flourished in the twentieth century and putting the music in its historical and social context, this ebook demystifies the whole subject of ‘modern’ music. Audio samples are contained in the text: just tap to listen while you read.

About the Author

David McCleery studied music at Manchester University and after various jobs with orchestras, artists’ agencies and festivals, he joined Chester Music and Novello music publishers where he developed a keen interest in working with composers, including John Tavener, Richard Rodney Bennett and Thea Musgrave. That interest continues today, although he has moved to the field of media music and works for a management company for film and television composers. He also undertakes freelance writing projects and for Naxos he has also written A Portrait of John Tavener as well as the Twentieth-Century edition of the ‘Discover’ series.