Naxos Books and Ebooks
Discover Music of the Romantic Era (Ebook)

Discover Music of the Romantic Era (Ebook)

  • 13-digit ISBN: 978-184-379-267-3
  • Barcode: 9781843792673
  • Approximate length: 20,000 words
  • Formats: iPad/iPhone (enhanced), Kindle, Nook, Kobo

Amidst a background of wars and revolution, the nineteenth century produced many of the world’s best-loved composers. Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin and Tchaikovsky are just some of the many familiar names whose music was shaped by the events of the period: Discover Music of the Romantic Era charts the course of music through these turbulent but exhilarating times. Lighthearted but authoritative, it tells the fascinating, often scandalous, life-stories of the nineteenth century’s greatest composers and describes how they created musical history.

About the Author

David McCleery studied music at Manchester University and after various jobs with orchestras, artists’ agencies and festivals, he joined Chester Music and Novello music publishers where he developed a keen interest in working with composers, including John Tavener, Richard Rodney Bennett and Thea Musgrave. That interest continues today, although he has moved to the field of media music and works for a management company for film and television composers. He also undertakes freelance writing projects and for Naxos he has also written A Portrait of John Tavener as well as the Twentieth-Century edition of the ‘Discover’ series.