Sign up for newsletters, get FREE downloads, exclusive offers and more.
Naxos Books and Ebooks
Discover the Symphony (Ebook)

Discover the Symphony (Ebook)

  • 13-digit ISBN: 978-1-84379-301-4
  • Barcode: 9781843793014
  • Approximate length: 20,000 words
  • Formats: iPad/iPhone (enhanced), Kindle, Nook, Kobo

From modest beginnings in eighteenth-century Italy, the symphony soon developed into the highest form of western instrumental music at the hands of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. The symphony became a big, public form that used the community of the orchestra to address the community of the audience. After two and a half centuries of the most varied masterpieces, the symphony still remains an ideal means for the individual voice to convey a world of ideas and feelings to a wide audience. Discover the Symphony traces the colourful and exciting story of a musical form that has expressed the most intimate emotions of the greatest composers and at the same time reflected the fascinating and often turbulent state of the world in which they lived.

About the Author

Andrew Huth was born in Edinburgh, studied music at Durham University, has lived in Italy and Germany and is now a committed Londoner. He worked at the BBC and in the record industry before devoting himself to a freelance life based principally around writing, but also involving much translation from several languages. Particular interests include Russian music and culture, the varied ways in which music can communicate, and the relation between words and music.