Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > PACIUS: The Hunt of King Charles (Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys)

PACIUS: The Hunt of King Charles (Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys)


About this Recording

PACIUS: The Hunt of King Charles (Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys)

Regarded as the father of Finnish music, Fredrik Pacius was the composer of the first Finnish opera, The Hunt of King Charles, which had its première in Helsinki in 1852. At that time the language of the theatre and the opera house was Swedish, and accordingly the work has a Swedish text, although the opera is often performed in a translated Finnish version, as heard in this live recording. The plot, set in 1671, centres on King Charles XI, ruler of Sweden and Finland, immediately before he reached an age to assume control of his kingdom. The music itself remains close to models such as Weber’s Freischütz and Oberon, and there are also reminders of Beethoven, not least in the choice of the name Leonora for the heroine.

Disc 1

Pacius, Fredrik
Topelius, Zacharias, lyricist(s)

  The Hunt of King Charles (Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys)
1.   Act I Scene 1: Overture 00:06:52
2.   Act I Scene 1: Huntsmen's Chorus: Halloo! Kautta synkean metsamaan (Hello! In the dark green woodland) (Chorus) 00:02:30
3.   Act I Scene 1: Quintet: Kas niin, nyt veikot, pyssyt syrjahan (Well met, my friends, now put your rifles down) (Gyllenstjerna, Baner, …) 00:03:09
4.   Act I Scene 1: Drinking Song: Juo, nauti, haavehet luo! (Drink, enjoy!) (Gyllenstjerna, Baner, Oxenstjerna, Wachtmeister, Lewenhaupt) 00:02:03
5.   Act I Scene 1: Dialogue: Kuninkaan malja! (I toast the King!) (Gyllenstjerna, Baner, Wachtmeister, Oxenstjerna, Lewenhaupt) 00:00:26
6.   Act I Scene 1: Quintet: Niin, marski tuuma hurja! (As Marshal and most demanding!) (Wachtmeister, Baner, Oxenstjerna, Gyllenstjerna, …) 00:05:00
7.   Act I Scene 2: Duet of two ladies - in - waiting: Tuoll' kukkuu kaki! (The cuckoo sings!) (Ladies - in - waiting) 00:05:39
8.   Act I Scene 3: Dialogue: Kuningas viipyy viela (The King is not coming yet) (Queen, Horn) 00:00:40
9.   Act I Scene 3: Ensemble: Min kauhean nain turmatyon! (Oh, what a shameful crime!) (Reutercrantz, Queen, Horn, Baner, Chorus, …) 00:07:34
10.   Act I Scene 4: Dialogue: Min' oot nakoinen! (My child) (Queen, King, Horn) 00:00:57
11.   Act I Scene 5: Dialogue: Aitinsa kera tuoll' kay pienoinen (There goes he with his mother, little brat) (Gyllenstjerna) 00:00:27
12.   Act I Scene 5: Recitative and Aria: Nyt on han mun! (Now he is mine!) (Gyllenstjerna) 00:02:36
13.   Act I Scene 5: Dialogue: Oletko yksin (Are you alone) (King, Gyllenstjerna) 00:01:54
14.   Act I Scene 6: Target - shooting Chorus: Kilvan nyt koittaa voimme, ken voittaa! (Come, we shall try it, Marksmen will share it!) (Chorus, …) 00:06:21
15.   Act II Scene 1: Ballad: Ja nuori merenneito han suvi - illalla (A mermaid in the ocean did roam summer night) (Leonora) 00:06:58
16.   Act II Scene 1: Dialogue: Aina muistelen tuot pikku kuningasta (It makes me think about the little King) (Leonora) 00:00:30
17.   Act II Scene 2 - 3: Duet: Laps kaunis, ehtoota! (Good evening, good child!) (Reutercrantz, Leonora, Jonathan) 00:05:02
18.   Act II Scene 3: Duet: Kay kanssain armas, kay pois (Come my beloved, you must flee) (Leonora, Jonathan) 00:06:17
19.   Act II Scene 3: Dialogue: Pakene, Jonathan! (Flee, Jonathan!) (Leonora. Jonathan) 00:00:13

Disc 2

Pacius, Fredrik
Topelius, Zacharias, lyricist(s)

  The Hunt of King Charles (Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys)
1.   Act II Scene 4: Dialogue: Vaan sano kuinka mahti meille paatyy (So tell us, how shall we achieve this task) (Baner, Gyllenstjerna, …) 00:06:11
2.   Act II Scene 5: Aria: Oi yon kaukomaista taivon silma paista (O Moon, you silvery noble maiden) (Leonora) 00:09:49
3.   Act II Scene 6: Dialogue: On kelpo tuuli, meri vaahtoilee (A bracing wind, and the sea is whipping white) (Old Fisherwoman, Jonathan) 00:00:43
4.   Act II Scene 6: Shanty and Chorus: Se miesi kehnoks' sanotaan (A scurvy tar is such a man) (Jonathan, Chorus) 00:03:51
5.   Act II Scene 7: Dialogue: Kiitos teille! (My thanks to thee! That was a jolly tune!) (Reutercrantz, Jonathan, Leski) 00:00:20
6.   Act II Scene 7: Finale: Kuin Jonathan (What Jonathan) (Reutercrantz, Jonathan, Chorus) 00:05:53
7.   Act III Scene 1: Chorus of the Market - people: Hei, nyt naurut soivat (Come, rejoice in pleasure) (Chorus, Turku merchant, Old Fisherwoman) 00:05:21
8.   Act III Scene 1: Kaappiin tanne katschokaat (Who would see my cabinet) (Conjurers, Chorus, Leonora, Bear) 00:05:37
9.   Act III Scene 2: Dialogue: Tottako, etta Jonathan Foglosta (Is it true, that Jonathan of Foglo is doomed to die) (2 Peasant Girls) 00:00:31
10.   Act III Scene 2 - 3: Couplet and Dialogue: Kuningas, nyt sen kuulet (A King, hear me, a King, I truly tell thee) (2 Peasant Girls, King) 00:02:45
11.   Act III Scene 4: Dialogue: Anteeksi, olette liian kaino viela (Forgive me, but I think you are too shy) (Gyllenstjerna, King) 00:00:38
12.   Act III Scene 5: Roundelay: Ja tahdotte tietaa, ja nahdakin kenties (And would you now learn it) (Chorus, Miehet, Leonora, Gyllenstjerna,…) 00:02:38
13.   Act III Scene 5: Dialogue and Chorus: Petosta! (Treason!) (King, Gyllenstjerna, Leonora, Chorus) 00:03:26
14.   Act III Scene 6: Dialogue: Takaisin, taikka oitis ammun sua! (Stop, or I will shoot!) (Leonora, Gyllenstjerna) 00:00:21
15.   Act III Scene 7 - 8: Trio and Chorus: Armahin tytto hempea! (Maiden so sweet and comely) (Gyllenstjerna, Leonora, Jonathan, Chorus) 00:04:55
16.   Act III Scene 9: Dialogue: Kaarle! (My Charles!) (Queen, King, Gyllenstjerna) 00:01:30
17.   Act III Scene 10: Dialogue: Nyt palkan saakoon uskollinen kansa! (Our faithful folk shall now be well rewarded) (King, Kansa, Jonathan) 00:00:28
18.   Act III Scene 10: Ballad: Ja meren nuori impi (The mermaid of the ocean, she smiled and softly said) (Leonora) 00:02:10
19.   Act III Scene 10: Dialogue: Vapaasti valita saat, mita mielit (You must be free to choose) (King, Leonora, Kansa) 00:00:41
20.   Act III Scene 10: Finale: Armonsa taa lain kuolon kalvan estaa (Praises we sing) (Chorus, Leonora, Jonathan) 00:01:23
21.   Act III Scene 11: Scene: Ties outo huhu uskomaton (We heard a rumour that the King had been captured by bandits) (Horn, Reutercrantz, …) 00:02:06
22.   Act III Scene 11: Hymn: Nyt kauaksi Suomi jaada saa (Though now we depart from Finland's shore) (Chorus) 00:03:01

Total Playing Time: 02:09:26

Pacius, Fredrik

Topelius, Zacharias

Rasilainen, Ari

Pori Sinfonietta

Porin Opera Chorus

Aalto, Tero; Ahola, Niina; Elo, Sanna; Heinikari, Matti; Kahkonen, Pekka; Kattelus, Kristiina; Koivula, Reijo; Kunttu, Seppo; Latvala, Heli; Nordqvist, Sari; Nuorsaari, Heikki; Orama, Heikki; Ouramo, Jouko; Pitkanen, Kai; Saarman, Jukka; Sundqvist, Janne; Tamminen, Tiina; Vesanto, Mauri; Virta, Suvi-Maaria

Label: Marco Polo

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.225317-18

Barcode: 636943531723

Physical Release: 01/2007

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group