Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > Life and Works: BRAHMS (Siepmann)

Life and Works: BRAHMS (Siepmann)


Back Cover Image 
Spoken Text

Life and Works: BRAHMS (Siepmann)

Life and Works

Author and Narrator: Jeremy Siepmann
Jasper Britton as Brahms
Other roles taken by Karen Archer, Elaine Claxton, Ruth Sillers, Neville Jason, Nicholas Boulton, Steve Hodson and David Timson
4 CDs
136-page booklet
Naxos 8.558071-74
ISBN: 1-84379-057-2

Brahms is one of the best-loved yet most controversial of all the Romantics. Almost uniquely, his works have never suffered the slightest period of eclipse. Profoundly emotional yet governed by an iron discipline, the music, like the man, is a fascinating, entertaining, often deeply moving blend of opposites. He had a gift for friendship and a capacity for love far beyond the ordinary, yet no man could be ruder or more hurtful. Though humble, he was consumed by a sense of destiny, and his inner life, coloured by his adoration and fear of women, found expression in some of the greatest music ever written.

Listening to this audio-biography is leaping inside the life and times of a great German Romantic, understanding the man who was haunted by the ghost of Beethoven for years and was forty-three before he wrote his First Symphony. Accompanied by a richly detailed booklet, this 4 CD-set is a sympathetic, absorbing account of a fascinating composer.

Disc 1

Brahms, Johannes

  Life and Works of Brahms
1.   Destiny, Birth, and Childhood 00:08:42
2.   From Brothel to Beethoven 00:05:00
3.   Hungarian Dance No. 1 00:03:06
4.   A Life - changing Tour 00:01:11
5.   The Meeting with Joachim 00:01:43
6.   Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 5(Scherzo) 00:04:32
7.   Joachim Weighs In 00:04:42
8.   Enter the Schumanns 00:02:32
9.   Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 5(first movement) 00:07:07
10.   Prophecy and Tragedy: a Double Yoke 00:07:16
11.   Piano Trio No. 2 in C, Op. 87(Scherzo) 00:03:22
12.   Brahms and Clara 00:10:14
13.   Piano Sonata No. 1 in C, Op. 1(Finale) 00:07:18
14.   A Triangular Bond 00:04:45
15.   The Death of Schumann - and a Fateful Decision 00:04:19

Disc 2

Brahms, Johannes

  Life and Works of Brahms
1.   The Young Messiah 00:08:30
2.   Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 15(opening) 00:03:54
3.   The Virtuoso Takes Flight 00:03:49
4.   Variations on a Theme by Paganini, Op. 35 00:02:12
5.   Detmold and Distraction 00:03:52
6.   Serenade No. 1 in D, Op. 11 00:02:40
7.   Birth of the D Minor Concerto 00:02:49
8.   Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 15(Finale) 00:02:30
9.   The Taste of Failure - and of New Love 00:04:05
10.   String Sextet in B flat, Op. 18 (Andante) 00:01:39
11.   Love, Folly, and a New Calling 00:08:31
12.   Motet 'Ich aber bin elend', Op. 110 No. 1 00:02:48
13.   Brahms and Wagner 00:02:26
14.   Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel, Op. 24 (Fugue) 00:05:28
15.   Frustrated Hopes and a Mother's Death 00:12:20
16.   Trio for Horn, Violin and Piano, Op. 40 (Finale) 00:06:10

Disc 3

Brahms, Johannes

  Life and Works of Brahms
1.   The Road to the Requiem 00:03:29
2.   A German Requiem ('Denn alles Fleisch es ist wie Gras') 00:05:42
3.   The Wanderer 00:04:34
4.   Waltz in E, Op. 39 No. 2 00:01:22
5.   The Consummate Performer 00:09:49
6.   Five Studies for Piano (No. 3: Presto in G Minor, after Bach) 00:01:57
7.   Paradox Personified: the Tender Savage 00:08:18
8.   Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat, Op. 83 (Andante) 00:08:39
9.   A Demanding Friend 00:06:33
10.   Variations on a Theme by Haydn (or Variations on the St Antony Chorale), Op. 56a 00:03:41
11.   The Eternal Child 00:04:19
12.   The Ghost Exorcised 00:03:54
13.   Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68 (Finale) 00:12:22

Disc 4

Brahms, Johannes

  Life and Works of Brahms
1.   A Watershed in Brahm's Career 00:00:42
2.   Symphony No. 2 in D, Op. 73 (third movement) 00:05:17
3.   The External Brahms 00:05:01
4.   A Free Man at Last 00:03:05
5.   Violin Concerto in D, Op. 77 (slow movement) 00:11:57
6.   The Composer at Work 00:05:49
7.   Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80 00:03:31
8.   Celebrity and Scholar 00:05:06
9.   Motet 'Wenn ein starker Gewappneter', Op. 109, No. 2 00:02:41
10.   Love, Loss, and Reconciliation 00:02:40
11.   Concerto for Violin and Cello in A Minor, Op. 102 (slow movement) 00:02:52
12.   The Greatest Living Composer - but a Difficult Friend 00:03:02
13.   The Philanthropist 00:02:45
14.   Decline and Death 00:11:13
15.   Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat, Op. 83 (Finale) 00:09:07

Total Playing Time: 04:58:59

Brahms, Johannes

Siepmann, Jeremy

Label: Naxos Educational

Genre: Music Biographies

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.558071-74

Barcode: 0636943807125

Physical Release: 09/2002

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For Germany only:
Buy from
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group