Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > PROKOFIEV, S.: Romeo and Juliet [Ballet] (Baltimore Symphony, Alsop)

PROKOFIEV, S.: Romeo and Juliet [Ballet] (Baltimore Symphony, Alsop)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

PROKOFIEV, S.: Romeo and Juliet [Ballet] (Baltimore Symphony, Alsop)

Based on Shakespeare’s most famous romantic play, Prokofiev’s realisation of Romeo and Juliet as a full-length narrative ballet was audacious in its day. It was written during a period of artistic turmoil under a Soviet regime in which arguments raged over such fundamental aspects as the choice between a happy or a tragic ending. Famous movements such as the Dance of the Knights have helped maintain Romeo and Juliet as Prokofiev’s best-loved stage work. Marin Alsop’s acclaimed cycle of Prokofiev’s Symphonies has been described as ‘an outstanding achievement’ by BBC Music Magazine.

Disc 1

Prokofiev, Sergey

  Romeo and Juliet, Op. 64
1.   Act I: Introduction 00:02:39
2.   Act I: Romeo 00:01:35
3.   Act I: The Street Wakens 00:01:33
4.   Act I: Morning Dance 00:02:12
5.   Act I: The Quarrel 00:01:43
6.   Act I: The Fight 00:03:43
7.   Act I: The Duke's Command 00:01:21
8.   Act I: Interlude 00:01:54
9.   Act I: At the Capulets' (Preparations for the Ball) 00:02:24
10.   Act I: The Young Juliet 00:03:18
11.   Act I: Arrival of the Guests 00:04:01
12.   Act I: Masks 00:02:53
13.   Act I: Dance of the Knights (Montagues and Capulets) 00:05:32
14.   Act I: Juliet's Variation 00:02:47
15.   Act I: Mercutio 00:02:18
16.   Act I: Madrigal 00:03:21
17.   Act I: Tybalt Recognizes Romeo 00:01:59
18.   Act I: Gavotte 00:03:28
19.   Act I: Balcony Scene 00:03:19
20.   Act I: Romeo's Variation 00:01:24
21.   Act I: Love Dance 00:05:48
22.   Act II: Folk Dance 00:03:42
23.   Act II: Romeo and Mercutio 00:02:17
24.   Act II: Dance of the Five Couples 00:03:56
25.   Act II: Dance with Mandolins 00:02:02
26.   Act II: Nurse 00:02:11
27.   Act II: The Nurse and Romeo 00:00:56

Disc 2

Prokofiev, Sergey

  Romeo and Juliet, Op. 64
1.   Act II: Romeo at Friar Laurence's 00:02:50
2.   Act II: Juliet at Friar Laurence's 00:03:16
3.   Act II: Public Merrymaking 00:03:23
4.   Act II: Further Public Festivities 00:02:32
5.   Act II: Meeting of Tybalt and Mercutio 00:01:56
6.   Act II: The Duel 00:01:27
7.   Act II: Death of Mercutio 00:02:31
8.   Act II: Romero Decides to Avenge Mercutio 00:02:07
9.   Act II: Finale 00:02:07
10.   Act III: Introduction 00:01:15
11.   Act III: Romeo and Juliet (Juliet's Bedroom) 00:01:26
12.   Act III: Romeo Bids Juliet Farewell 00:05:12
13.   Act III: Nurse 00:01:54
14.   Act III: Juliet Refuses to Marry Paris 00:02:34
15.   Act III: Juliet Alone 00:01:40
16.   Act III: Interlude 00:01:25
17.   Act III: At Friar Laurence's Cell 00:04:48
18.   Act III: Interlude 00:01:41
19.   Act III: Juliet's Room 00:02:57
20.   Act III: Juliet Alone 00:04:49
21.   Act III: Aubade (Morning Serenade) 00:02:38
22.   Act III: Dance of the Girls with Lilies 00:02:14
23.   Act III: At Juliet's Bedside 00:02:00
24.   Act IV: Juliet's Funeral 00:06:00
25.   Act IV: Juliet's Death 00:04:09

Total Playing Time: 02:23:07

Prokofiev, Sergey

Alsop, Marin

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

Label: Naxos

Genre: Ballet

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.573534-35

Barcode: 747313353477

Physical Release: 03/2018

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For Finland:
Buy from NaxosDirect
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Sweden:
Buy from NaxosDirect
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Norway:
Buy from NaxosDirect
For Germany:
Buy from
For Denmark:
Buy from NaxosDirect
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.K.:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For Japan:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group