Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MAYR, J.S.: Saffo [Opera] (A.L. Brown, M. Schäfer, Jaewon Yun, Bavarian State Opera Chorus, Simon Mayr Choir, Concerto de Bassus, Hauk)

MAYR, J.S.: Saffo [Opera] (A.L. Brown, M. Schäfer, Jaewon Yun, Bavarian State Opera Chorus, Simon Mayr Choir, Concerto de Bassus, Hauk)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

MAYR, J.S.: Saffo [Opera] (A.L. Brown, M. Schäfer, Jaewon Yun, Bavarian State Opera Chorus, Simon Mayr Choir, Concerto de Bassus, Hauk)

No one did more to combine in his operas the innovations of the Viennese classical composers, Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven, with the Italian ideal of bel canto than Johann Simon Mayr, the Bavarian composer who rose to fame in Italy. His opera Saffo, first performed in 1794, dates from his years in Venice. Not only was it his first opera but it was premièred at the Teatro La Fenice where it was enthusiastically received. It is full of surprising and striking elements, with a strong musical realisation of the text, supportive string and woodwind writing and vivid solo and choral effects. Set by the Rock of Leucas, from which unsuccessful lovers leap to their deaths, the opera deals with the poetess Sappho’s unhappy love for Phaon, finally resolved in a happy ending.

Disc 1

Mayr, Johann Simon
Sografi, Antonio Simone, lyricist(s)

1.   Sinfonia 00:05:27
2.   Act I: Coro e Recitativo: Ecco la Pizia (Coro, Saffo, Alceo, Faone) 00:04:24
3.   Act I: Recitativo: Venerato Ministro, in me tu vedi (Faone, Amfizione) 00:00:53
4.   Act I: Aria: Queste esanimi e candide belve (Faone) 00:01:42
5.   Act I: Recitativo: Alceo di Mitilene s'offre agli sguardi (Alceo, Amfizione) 00:01:12
6.   Act I: Aria: Lasciai del campo gli orridi bellici (Alceo) 00:02:00
7.   Act I: Recitativo: Venga di Lesbo la teoria (Amfizione) 00:00:10
8.   Act I: Entrata di Saffo 00:01:10
9.   Act I: Recitativo: Alfine premere m'e concesso (Saffo, Amfizione) 00:02:28
10.   Act I: Recitativo: Ah dicesti abbastanza (Saffo) 00:00:53
11.   Act I: Aria: L'onda del mar, che al vento (Saffo) 00:05:46
12.   Act I: Recitativo: Andiam, offriamo, amici (Amfizione) 00:00:27
13.   Act I: Aria: Dentro lo speco incognito (Amfizione) 00:02:01
14.   Act I: Recitativo: Non t'inoltrar, il passo arresta (Alceo, Saffo) 00:02:31
15.   Act I: Recitativo: Ebben: t'appaghero (Alceo, Saffo) 00:00:55
16.   Act I: Recitativo: Ah, s'egli fosse giunto (Saffo, Alceo) 00:01:47
17.   Act I: Aria: Torni la pace al cor (Alceo) 00:04:56
18.   Act I: Recitativo: O mie compagne udiste (Saffo) 00:01:21
19.   Act I: Coro di Cacciatori: Serena il tuo pensier (Coro) 00:02:03
20.   Act I: Recitativo: Amici, al vostro affetto grato io son (Faone, Saffo) 00:02:17
21.   Act I: Recitativo: Ah si per lei l'Eliso istesso (Faone, Saffo) 00:02:32
22.   Act I: Aria: Sfidar in sol per lei (Faone) 00:04:33
23.   Act I: Recitativo: Ecco l'oracol mio (Alceo, Saffo) 00:01:10
24.   Act I: Recitativo: Ch'il pronunzio (Alceo, Saffo, Faone, Coro) 00:01:21
25.   Act I: Finale: Amor crudel deh non mi togliere (Faone, Saffo, Alceo, Coro) 00:06:56

Disc 2

Mayr, Johann Simon
Sografi, Antonio Simone, lyricist(s)

1.   Act II: Coro: Sciogli gli accenti tuoi (Coro) 00:02:24
2.   Act II: Recitativo: Vati, stranier, teori (Laodamia, Euricleo, Faone, Alceo) 00:00:46
3.   Act II: Recitativo: Nume del Ciel che sei (Faone, Alceo) 00:01:41
4.   Act II: Duetto: Langue d'amor quest'alma (Faone, Alceo) 00:02:07
5.   Act II: Recitativo: E tu perche non sciogli (Laodamia, Euricleo) 00:00:38
6.   Act II: Duetto: Cessa di piangere per un ingrato (Laodamia, Euricleo) 00:02:20
7.   Act II: Recitativo: Così piacesse al Nume (Saffo) 00:00:38
8.   Act II: Recitativo: Piacesse a te svelar quando (Saffo) 00:01:29
9.   Act II: Aria: Soave, dolce, cara e la morte (Saffo) 00:02:51
10.   Act II: Recitativo: Eppur mi fa pieta quell'infelice (Laodamia, Euricleo) 00:00:52
11.   Act II: Recitativo: Odi il funesto grido (Laodamia, Euricleo) 00:00:51
12.   Act II: Coro: Palpitante… agitata… tremante (Coro, Saffo, Faone, Alceo, Amfizione) 00:04:01
13.   Act II: Recitativo: Saffo, e che ti spaventa (Saffo, Alceo, Amfizione, Laodamia, Faone) 00:02:14
14.   Act II: Recitativo: Quanti, crudeli, siete contro di me (Alceo) 00:01:59
15.   Act II: Aria: Tacito e mesto in volto (Alceo) 00:05:05
16.   Act II: Recitativo: T'arresti ancor! (Saffo, Faone) 00:00:53
17.   Act II: Recitativo: Rispetta i giorni tuoi (Faone) 00:00:48
18.   Act II: Cavatina: Nato son gia alle lagrime (Faone) 00:01:33
19.   Act II: Recitativo: Saffo, non ti smarir (Amfizione) 00:00:40
20.   Act II: Aria: La dolce speranza disgombri il duol (Amfizione) 00:01:39
21.   Act II: Recitativo: E quel pianto, quel duolo (Saffo) 00:02:35
22.   Act II: Aria: Pallida morte, vieni: guidami (Saffo) 00:04:45
23.   Act II: Recitativo: Andiam, miei fidi (Amfizione, Laodamia, Euricleo) 00:00:55
24.   Act II: Recitativo: Ciascun mi fugge (Faone) 00:03:19
25.   Act II: Coro: Dormi, riposa bell'alma amorosa (Coro, Faone) 00:01:25
26.   Act II: Recitativo: Vuoi ch'io la salvi!… oh, Dio (Faone, Alceo) 00:03:29
27.   Act II: Aria: Dille… ma no… vorrei… (Faone, Coro) 00:05:12
28.   Act II: Recitativo: Tutto svani. Per questa volta invano (Amfizione, Euricleo, Laodamia) 00:00:38
29.   Act II: Coro: Vivi leggiadra e bella (Coro, Saffo, Alceo, Faone) 00:02:42

Total Playing Time: 02:01:24

Mayr, Johann Simon

Sografi, Antonio Simone

Hauk, Franz

Concerto de Bassus

Bavarian State Opera Chorus, members; Simon Mayr Choir

Brown, Andrea Lauren; Hauk, Franz; Papenmeyer, Marie-Sande; Preis, Daniel; Ruckgaber, Katharina; Schäfer, Markus; Yun, Jaewon

Label: Naxos

Genre: Opera

Period: Classical

Catalogue No: 8.660367-68

Barcode: 730099036771

Physical Release: 01/2016

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group