Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > PINHO VARGAS, A.: Verses and Nocturnes (Northern Sinfonia, Vaganza, Brönnimann)

PINHO VARGAS, A.: Verses and Nocturnes (Northern Sinfonia, Vaganza, Brönnimann)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

PINHO VARGAS, A.: Verses and Nocturnes (Northern Sinfonia, Vaganza, Brönnimann)

António Pinho Vargas, whose musical journey has encompassed jazz, instrumental, and film music, is now firmly established as one of Portugal’s leading classical composers. These world première recordings draw on two great Portuguese poetry cycles and represent the “hugely liberating response” Pinho Vargas gains from text. António Pinho Vargas’ thought-provoking opera Os Dias Levantados is available for download on Naxos 9.70231-32.

Pinho Vargas, António
Ramos Rosa, Antonio, lyricist(s)

  9 Cancoes de Antonio Ramos Rosa
1.   No. 1. Nao tenho lagrimas (I have no tears) 00:03:32
2.   No. 2. Nao era um barco (It wasn't a boat) 00:02:19
3.   No. 3. Ligado a uma sombra (Bound to a shadow) 00:01:38
4.   No. 4. Um tremor de proa (A tremor of the prow) 00:02:53
5.   No. 5. Tacteio sobre o branco (A touch on the arm) 00:02:26
6.   No. 6. Como quem levanta (Can it be that the world is listening) 00:03:31
7.   No. 7. Onde a forca do vento (Where is the power of the wind) 00:02:15
8.   No. 8. E por aqui mas o caminho e tremulo (It's this way but the path is unsteady) 00:01:39
9.   No. 9. O que escrevo pro vezes (Sometimes as I write) 00:02:42

Pinho Vargas, António

  Nocturno / Diurno
10.   Nocturno / Diurno 00:09:08
  3 Versos de Caeiro
11.   No. 1. Pouco me importa… (It matters little to me) 00:02:28
12.   No. 2. … o vento que passa… (The wind that passes) 00:03:06
13.   No. 3. … se eu morrer cedo… (If I die early) 00:03:20

Pinho Vargas, António
Martins, Albano, lyricist(s)

  7 Cancoes de Albano Martins
14.   No. 1. Compromisso (Commitment) 00:02:39
15.   No. 2. A mesma cancao (The same song) 00:03:32
16.   No. 3. Porque sao numerosos (Because they are many in number) 00:01:50
17.   No. 4. Os dias de vespera (The eves of feast - days) 00:02:13
18.   No. 5. Paleta (Palette) 00:04:01
19.   No. 6. Jogos (Games) 00:02:16
20.   No. 7. Escrito a vermelho (Written in red) 00:02:01

Total Playing Time: 00:59:29

Pinho Vargas, António

Martins, Albano; Ramos Rosa, Antonio

Brönnimann, Baldur

Northern Sinfonia, Vaganza

Ferreira, Paulo; Mota, Jaime; Taveira, Rui

Label: Naxos

Genre: Chamber Music; Vocal

Catalogue No: 9.70233

Barcode: 730099723312

Physical Release: 06/2015


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group