Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > HANDEL: Solomon (Cameron, Morison / Beecham Choral Society / Royal Philharmonic / Beecham) (1956)

HANDEL: Solomon (Cameron, Morison / Beecham Choral Society / Royal Philharmonic / Beecham) (1956)


HANDEL: Solomon (Cameron, Morison / Beecham Choral Society / Royal Philharmonic / Beecham) (1956)

Disc 1

Handel, George Frideric

  Solomon, HWV 67
1.   Overture 00:04:16
2.   Part I: Your harps and cymbals sound (Chorus of Priests) 00:03:58
3.   Part I: Recitative: Almighty Power, who rul'st the earth and skies (Solomon) 00:02:28
4.   Part I: With pious heart and holy tongue (Chorus of Priests) 00:04:42
5.   Part I: Recitative: Imperial Solomon, thy prayers are heard (Zadok) 00:00:44
6.   Part I: Air: Sacred raptures cheer my breast (Zadok) 00:05:05
7.   Part I: Recitative: Blest be the Lord (Solomon) 00:00:37
8.   Part I: Air: What though I trace each herb and flower (Solomon) 00:03:31
9.   Part I: Air: Bless'd the day (Queen) 00:05:31
10.   Part I: Recitative: Thou fair inhabitant of Nile (Solomon, Queen) 00:00:58
11.   Part I: Duet: Welcome as the dawn of day (Solomon, Queen) 00:04:09
12.   Part I: Recitative: When thou art absent from my sight (Queen) 00:00:18
13.   Part I: Air: With thee the unsheltered moor I'd tread (Queen) 00:03:15
14.   Part I: Recitative: My blooming fair, come, come away (Solomon) 00:00:18
15.   Part I: May no rash intruder disturb their soft hours (Chorus) 00:04:07
16.   Part II: Sinfonia 00:03:09

Disc 2

Handel, George Frideric

  Solomon, HWV 67
1.   Part III: Recitative: From Arabia's spicy shores (Queen of Sheba, Solomon) 00:00:31
2.   Part III: Air: Ev'ry sight these eyes behold (Queen of Sheba) 00:04:50
3.   Part III: Recitative: Sweep, sweep the string to soothe the royal fair (Solomon) 00:00:20
4.   Part III: Solo and Chorus: Music, spread thy voice around (Solomon, Israelites) 00:04:15
5.   Part III: Air and Chorus: Now a diff'rent measure try (Solomon, Israelites) 00:02:02
6.   Part III: Recitative: Then, at once, from rage remove (Solomon, Chorus of Israelites) 00:03:49
7.   Part III: Recitative: Next the tortured soul release (Solomon) 00:00:21
8.   Part III: Thus rolling surges rise (Chorus) 00:02:04
9.   Part III: Recitative: Thy harmony's divine, great King! (Queen of Sheba) 00:01:41
10.   Part II: From the censer curling rise (Chorus) 00:05:18
11.   Part II: From the East unto the West (Chorus of Israelites) 00:03:05
12.   Part III: Recitative: Thrice happy King! (Zadok) 00:01:06
13.   Part III: Air: Golden columns, fair and bright (Zadok) 00:03:18
14.   Part II: Air: Beneath the vine (First Harlot) 00:03:20
15.   Part III: Recitative: Gold now is common on our happy shore (Solomon) 00:00:42
16.   Part III: Air: How green our fertile pastures look! (Solomon) 00:04:20
17.   Part II: Swell the full chorus to Solomon's praise (Chorus of Priests) 00:03:45
18.   Part III: Recitative: May peace in Salem ever dwell (Queen of Sheba) 00:01:06
19.   Part III: Air: Will the sun forget to streak (Queen of Sheba) 00:05:09
20.   Part III: Recitative: Adieu, fair Queen (Solomon) 00:00:19
21.   Part III: Praise the Lord (Chorus) 00:04:53

Total Playing Time: 01:43:20

Handel, George Frideric

Beecham, Thomas

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Beecham Choral Society

Cameron, John; Marshall, Lois; Morrison, Elsie; Young, Alexander

Label: Naxos Classical Archives

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: 9.80087-88

Barcode: 0730099808712

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States, Australia and Singapore due to possible copyright restrictions. Exclusively available for streaming and download. Not available on CD.

Physical Release: 02/2008

For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group