Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MOZART, W.A.: Nozze di Figaro (Le) (Salzburg Festival, 1966) (PAL)

MOZART, W.A.: Nozze di Figaro (Le) (Salzburg Festival, 1966) (PAL)



MOZART, W.A.: Nozze di Figaro (Le) (Salzburg Festival, 1966) (PAL)

Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART (1756-1791)

Le Nozze di Figaro

II Conte di Almaviva Ingvar Wixell
La Contessa di Almaviva Claire Watson
Susanna Reri Grist
Figaro Walter Berry
Basilio David Thaw
Bartolo Zoltan Kelemen
Marcellina Margarethe Bence
Cherubino Edith Mathis
Antonio Klaus Hirte
Barbarina Deirdre Aselford
Don Curzio Alfred Pfeifle
Wiener Philharmoniker, Karl Böhm

Stage Director: Günther Rennert
Set/Costume Design: Ludwig Heinrich

Picture Format: 4:3
Sound Format: LPCM Mono
Running Time: 180 minutes
Region Code: PAL All
Booklet Languages: GB, F, D

Karl Böhm's direction of Mozart's comic masterpiece was the celebrated highlight of the Salzburg Festival in 1966. With its new décor and costumes by Rudolf Heinrich, along with a new, young cast of singers, the production became the 'standard for Mozart'.

In the title role is Walter Berry, one of the twentieth century's most beloved bass-baritone singers, equally at home in Wagner, Strauss and Mozart, though perhaps never more so than in the roles provided by his eighteenth-century compatriot. "Berry is a delightfully naive, unaffected, charming Hanswurst of a Papageno, … his speech projected with engaging freshness and point. His singing … is as naturally phrased as one could wish." Gramophone on Mozart: The Magic Flute

Karl Böhm's unsurpassable direction yields nothing when it comes to handling big ensembles; and his devotion to the music of Mozart is palpable. No one else knows how to conduct this overwhelming music as an entity, so full of contrasts yet at the same time held tightly together.


Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Da Ponte, Lorenzo

Böhm, Karl

Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Vienna State Opera Chorus

Aselford, Deirdre; Bence, Margarethe; Berry, Walter; Grist, Reri; Hirte, Klaus; Kelemen, Zoltan; Mathis, Edith; Pfeifle, Alfred; Thaw, David; Watson, Claire; Wixell, Ingvar


Genre: Opera

Period: Classical

Catalogue No: DV-CLOPNDF

Barcode: 5450270008100

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in North and South America.

Listening samples not available for this release.

Release Date: 08/2003

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Spain Only:
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group