Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MONK, Thelonius: Live in '66 (NTSC)

MONK, Thelonius: Live in '66 (NTSC)



MONK, Thelonius: Live in '66 (NTSC)

DVD Clip



with Charlie Rouse (Tenor Sax)
Larry Gales
Ben Riley

(Norway, 1966)
Lulu's Back In Town; Blue Monk; 'Round Midnight

(Denmark, 1966)
Lulu's Back In Town; Don't Blame Me; Epistrophy


Picture format: NTSC 4:3 B/W
Sound format: Mono
Region code: All Region
Booklet notes: English
Running time: 62 mins
No. of DVDs: 1


"The release of Jazz Icons™ is like the unearthing of a musical time capsule—an audio-visual treasure trove of the music that changed the world. From an educational standpoint this series is a gift to our culture." Quincy Jones

  • A major event is taking place in the world of Jazz—the release of the Jazz Icons™ DVD Series featuring filmed concerts by the most pivotal and influential jazz artists of the 20th century.
  • This disc bring us two superb 1966 concerts from Thelonious Monk filmed three days apart in Norway and Denmark.
  • Each of the nine Jazz Icons™ DVDs features one or more concerts filmed live in television studios and concert halls throughout Europe during one of the most creative periods in jazz history. None of these performances has ever been officially released, and in many cases, the material was never originally broadcast. In addition, every performance in the Jazz Icons™ DVD series has been re-transferred and re-mastered from the best-quality, original masters yielding excellent sound and video.
  • Each DVD also includes a 16-page booklet with an extensive essay written by an established jazz writer and historian (Ira Gitler, Michael Cuscuna, Will Friedwald, Rob Bowman and others) In addition, each booklet includes previously unseen photos and memorabilia.

Clark, Kenneth S.; McHugh, Jimmy; Monk, Thelonious; Warren, Harry; Williams, Cootie

Gales, Larry; Monk, Thelonious; Riley, Ben; Rouse, Charlie


Genre: Jazz

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: DVWW-JITM

Barcode: 824121001889

Distribution Note(s):

Not Available in Japan

Release Date: 10/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Spain Only:


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group