Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > GIORDANO: Andrea Chenier (Teatro Comunale di Bologna, 2006) (NTSC)

GIORDANO: Andrea Chenier (Teatro Comunale di Bologna, 2006) (NTSC)




GIORDANO: Andrea Chenier (Teatro Comunale di Bologna, 2006) (NTSC)

Umberto Giordano
Andrea Chénier
Teatro Comunale di Bologna 2006

José Cura
Maria Guleghina
Carlo Guelfi

Orchestra e Coro del Teatro Comunale di Bologna

Stage Director: Giancarlo del Monaco

Picture Format: 16:9, 1 DVD
Sound Format: LPCM stereo, DD 5.1, DLT 5.1
Running Time: 123 mins
Region Code: NTSC All
Booklet Languages: GB, F, D
Subtitle Languages : GB, F, D, I, E
Territory: Worldwide

  • This brand new production from January 2006 comes from the Teatro Comunale di Bologna, one of the most important theatres in Italy.
  • Giordano’s tragic tale of revolution and doomed love was a huge success at both its European and American premieres and provides a technically challenging role for its lead.
  • Star tenor José Cura takes on the challenge, relishing the heroic part of Andrea Chénier, a historic poet during the French Revolution. His partner is the dramatic soprano Maria Guleghina, a key exponent of Verismo opera, and the demanding part of Maddalena belongs to her most successful roles. Carlo Guelfi is one of Italy’s leading baritones, who sings regularly at La Scala and in Florence and is perfectly at home in this repertoire.

“ repertoire that can often encourage excessive histrionics, Cura’s singing, besides demonstrating first-rate intonation and consistent technical security, is also utterly disciplined (listen, for example, to the ’Improvviso’ from Andrea Chénier)...”Fanfare

Giordano, Umberto

Illica, Luigi

Rizzi, Carlo

Bologna Teatro Comunale Orchestra

Bologna Teatro Comunale Chorus

Ariostini, Armando; Bellanova, Mario; Castagnaro, Michele; Cigni, Carlo; Cura, Jose; Guelfi, Carlo; Guidi, Giuseppe; Guleghina, Maria; Lefebvre, Pierre; Marchetto, Mauro; Mola, Cinzia de; Nicotra, Giacinta; Pisani, Stefano; Vavrille, Annie; Ziyan, Atfeh


Genre: Opera

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: DVWW-OPACH

Barcode: 824121001827

Distribution Note(s):

Listening samples not available for this release.

Release Date: 07/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Spain Only:


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group