Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > SULLIVAN, A.: Mikado (The) (Opera Australia, 2011)

SULLIVAN, A.: Mikado (The) (Opera Australia, 2011)




SULLIVAN, A.: Mikado (The) (Opera Australia, 2011)

Disc 1

Sullivan, Arthur
Gilbert, W.S., lyricist(s)

  The Mikado
1.   Overture 00:04:34
2.   Act I: If you want to know who we are (Chorus) 00:02:06
3.   Act I: Recitative: Gentlemen, I pray you (Nanki - Poo) 00:00:40
4.   Act I: A Wand'ring Minstrel I (Nanki - Poo, Chorus) 00:04:19
5.   Act I: Our great Mikado, virtuous man (Pish - Tush, Chorus) 00:03:02
6.   Act I: Young Man, Despair (Pooh - Bah, Nanki - Poo, Pish - Tush) 00:02:28
7.   Act I: Recitative: And have I journeyed for a month (Nanki - Poo, Pooh - Bah) 00:00:49
8.   Act I: Behold the Lord High Executioner - Taken from a county jail (Chorus, Koko) 00:02:39
9.   Act I: As some day it may happen (Koko, Chorus) 00:05:22
10.   Act I: Comes a train of little ladies (Chorus) 00:02:09
11.   Act I: 3 little maids from school (Yum - Yum, Pitti - Sing, Peep - Bo, Chorus) 00:01:36
12.   Act I: So please you sir, we much regret (Yum - Yum, Pitti - Sing, Pooh - Bah, Peep - Bo, Chorus) 00:01:52
13.   Act I: Were you not to Ko - Ko plighted (Nanki - Poo, Yum - Yum) 00:02:49
14.   Act I: Trio: I am so proud (Pooh - Bah, Ko - Ko, Pish - Tush) 00:02:59
15.   Act I: Finale: With aspect stern and gloomy stride (Pooh - Bah, Ko - Ko, Nanki - Poo, Yum - Yum, Pitti - Sing, Katisha) 00:04:59
16.   Act I: Your revels cease (Katisha, Nanki - Poo, Pitti - Sing, Yum - Yum, Others) 00:08:41

Disc 2

Sullivan, Arthur
Gilbert, W.S., lyricist(s)

  The Mikado
1.   Act II: Braid the raven hair (Pitti - Sing, Chorus of Girls) 00:03:19
2.   Act II: The sun whose rays are all ablaze (Yum - Yum) 00:03:13
3.   Act II: Brightly dawns our wedding day (Yum - Yum, Pitti - Sing, Nanki - Poo, Pish - Tush) 00:02:01
4.   Act II: Here's a how - de - do! (Yum - Yum, Nanki - Poo, Ko - Ko) 00:01:41
5.   Act II: Miya Sama, "March of the Mikado's Troops" (Chorus, Mikado, Katisha) 00:03:19
6.   Act II: A more humane Mikado - My object all sublime (Mikado, Chorus) 00:04:12
7.   Act II: The criminal cried, as he dropped him down (Ko - Ko, Pitti - Sing, Pooh - Bah, Chorus) 00:03:35
8.   Act II: The flowers that bloom in the spring (Nanki - Poo, Ko - Ko, Yum - Yum, Pitti - Sing, Pooh - Bah) 00:01:45
9.   Act II: Alone and yet alive (Katisha) 00:00:57
10.   Act II: Hearts do not break (Katisha) 00:02:33
11.   Act II: On a tree by a river, "Willow titwillow" (Ko - Ko) 00:02:36
12.   Act II: There is beauty in the bellow of the blast (Katisha, Ko - Ko) 00:03:00
13.   Act II: Finale: For he's gone and married Yum - Yum (All) 00:01:47
14.   Curtain call 00:02:44

Total Playing Time: 01:27:46

Sullivan, Arthur

Gilbert, W.S.

Castles-Onion, Brian

Orchestra Victoria

Opera Australia Chorus

Alexander, Richard; Breen, Kanen; Butel, Mitchell; Chaffey, Annabelle; Dark, Jacqueline; Dundas, Samuel; Fiebig, Taryn; Fyfe, Warwick; Hamilton, Tom; Matthews, Dominica

Label: EPC Distribution

Genre: Operetta

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: OPOZ56016CD

Barcode: 5060266600258

Distribution Note(s):

Only available on CD. Not available for streaming.

Release Date: 02/2012

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Spain Only:


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group