Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > HANDEL, G.F.: Messiah (Ohrwall)

HANDEL, G.F.: Messiah (Ohrwall)


Back Cover Image 

HANDEL, G.F.: Messiah (Ohrwall)

Disc 1

Handel, George Frideric
Bible - New Testament, lyricist(s)
Öhrwall, Anders, arranger(s)

  Messiah, HWV 56 (arr. A. Ohrwall)
1.   Part I: Sinfonia: Grave - Allegro moderato 00:03:02
2.   Part I: Arioso: Comfort ye my people (Tenor) 00:02:52
3.   Part I: Air: Ev'ry valley shall be exalted (Tenor) 00:03:49
4.   Part I: And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed (Chorus) 00:02:56
5.   Part I: Recitative: Thus saith the Lord of Hosts (Bass) 00:01:28
6.   Part I: Air: But who may abide the day of His coming (Alto) 00:04:30
7.   Part I: And He shall purify (Chorus) 00:02:52
8.   Part I: Recitative: Behold, a virgin shall conceive (Alto) 00:00:30
9.   Part I: Air: O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion (Alto, Chorus) 00:05:43
10.   Part I: Recitative: For behold, darkness shall cover the earth (Bass) 00:01:41
11.   Part I: Air: The people that walked in darkness (Bass) 00:03:29
12.   Part I: For unto us a child is born (Chorus) 00:04:37
13.   Part I: Pifa (Pastoral Symphony) 00:02:42
14.   Part I: Recitative: There were shepherds abiding (Soprano) 00:01:33
15.   Part I: Glory to God in the highest (Chorus) 00:02:27
16.   Part I: Air: Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Soprano) 00:04:36
17.   Part I: Recitative: Then shall the eyes of the blind be open'd (Alto) 00:00:30
18.   Part I: Duet: He shall feed His flock like a shepherd (Alto, Soprano) 00:05:27
19.   Part I: His yoke is easy, his burthen is light (Chorus) 00:02:46
20.   Part II: Behold, the Lamb of God (Chorus) 00:02:18
21.   Part II: Air: He was despised (Alto) 00:11:04

Disc 2

Handel, George Frideric
Bible - New Testament, lyricist(s)
Öhrwall, Anders, arranger(s)

  Messiah, HWV 56 (arr. A. Ohrwall)
1.   Part II: Surely, He hath borne our griefs (Chorus) 00:01:50
2.   Part II: And with His stripes we are healed (Chorus) 00:02:18
3.   Part II: All we like sheep have gone astray (Chorus) 00:04:15
4.   Part II: Recitative: All they that see Him (Tenor) 00:00:42
5.   Part II: He trusted in God that He would deliver Him (Chorus) 00:02:21
6.   Part II: Recitative: Thy rebuke hath broken His heart (Soprano) 00:02:14
7.   Part II: Arioso: Behold, and see if there be any sorrow (Soprano) 00:01:24
8.   Part II: Recitative: He was cut off out of the land of the living (Tenor) 00:00:23
9.   Part II: Air: But Thou didst not leave His soul in hell (Tenor) 00:02:33
10.   Part II: Lift up your heads, O ye gates (Chorus) 00:03:15
11.   Part II: Recitative: Unto which of the angels said He at any time (Tenor) 00:00:18
12.   Part II: Let all the angels of God worship Him (Chorus) 00:01:33
13.   Part II: Air: Thou art gone up on high (Alto) 00:03:08
14.   Part II: The Lord gave the word (Chorus) 00:01:19
15.   Part II: Air: How beautiful are the feet (Soprano) 00:02:22
16.   Part II: Air: Why do the nations so furiously rage together (Bass) 00:01:22
17.   Part II: Let us break their bonds asunder (Chorus) 00:01:51
18.   Part II: Recitative: He that dwelleth in heaven (Tenor) 00:00:17
19.   Part II: Air: Thou shalt break them (Tenor) 00:02:05
20.   Part II: Hallelujah (Chorus) 00:04:07
21.   Part III: Air: I know that my Redeemer liveth (Soprano) 00:06:10
22.   Part III: Since by man came death (Chorus) 00:01:51
23.   Part III: Recitative: Behold, I tell you a mystery (Bass) 00:00:36
24.   Part III: Air: The trumpet shall sound (Bass) 00:04:18
25.   Part III: Recitative: Then shall be brought to pass the saying (Alto) 00:00:21
26.   Part III: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain (Chorus) 00:03:21
27.   Part III: Amen (Chorus) 00:03:59

Total Playing Time: 02:11:05

Handel, George Frideric

Bible - New Testament

Öhrwall, Anders

Öhrwall, Anders

Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, members

Stockholm Bach Choir, The

Esswood, Paul; Hill, Martyn; Kenny, Yvonne; Linden, Magnus

Label: Swedish Society

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: SCD1063-64

Barcode: 7392004410637

Physical Release: 1997

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group