Listen to an excerpt from
String Quartet in B-flat major, Op. 1, No. 1
Franz Joseph HAYDN (1732–1809)
String Quartets
Op. 1, No. 1 • Op. 33, No. 5 • Op. 77, No. 1
Goldmund Quartet
Joseph Haydn claimed to have discovered the string quartet form by accident. His Op. 1, No. 1 has the cheerful five-movement form of a Divertimento, while the glorious and harmonically daring Op. 77, No. 1 was among the last he completed in the genre. Falling between the two, Op. 33, No. 5 is full of rhythmic surprises and a theme that gives it the nickname ‘How do you do?’ The award-winning Goldmund Quartet is considered one of today’s most exciting young European string quartets.
© Nikolaj Lund
About Goldmund Quartet

The German Goldmund Quartet originated in the music making of four highly gifted school friends in Munich and developed steadily into a professional ensemble. Today, the Goldmund Quartet – Florian Schötz (first violin), Pinchas Adt (second violin), Christoph Vandory (viola) and Raphael Paratore (cello) – is considered one of the most exciting young string quartets in Europe. Since their début at Munich’s Prinzregententheater, the quartet has appeared at international festivals such as the Festival Aix-en-Provence, Festival de Música y Danza Granada, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele and Heidelberger Frühling. Recitals have taken them to prestigious chamber music venues and series in Denmark, France, Norway, Spain, Canada, China and the US. Regular chamber music partners include artists such as Peter Buck (Melos Quartet), Christopher Park, Christoph Poppen and Arabella Steinbacher. Taught by Gerhard Schulz in Stuttgart and Günter Pichler at the Instituto Internacional de Musica de Camera de Madrid, the Goldmund Quartet has been inspired by master classes with the Vogler, Ysaye and Cherubini quartets, André J. Roy, Eberhard Feltz and Alfred Brendel. The Goldmund Quartet has been awarded several prizes, including a Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now scholarship, and recently a scholarship from the Deutscher Musikwettbewerb as well as the 2015 Bavarian Young Artist Award. Concert recordings have been made by the Bavarian Radio, ARD, Deutschlandradio and Einsfestival.

Florian Schötz, Violin I
Pinchas Adt, Violin II
Christoph Vandory, Viola
Raphael Paratore, Cello
Recommended Recordings
17th Century String Quartet Music
“The performances are superbly shaped, naturally paced and alive”
– Gramophone
“The Éder’s sound is warm and polished, with excellent blend and intonation”
– BBC Radio 3
“The performances are replete with enthusiasm and momentum”
– Fanfare
“The Quartetto Borciani plays these quartets for all they’re worth.”
– ClassicsToday.com