Mikael Ayrapetyan, piano

The composer, pianist and teacher Eduard Aslanovich Abramian was one of the most significant and respected figures in the development of modern Armenian music. Drawing on features of Armenian folklore, Abramian’s impressive 24 Preludes do not follow a highly-structured tonal scheme but one which appears to be spontaneous, key following key principally to satisfy the need for dramatic contrast of mood and colour.

Listen to
Prelude No. 19 in G sharp minor

24 Preludes(1958)(60:37)
1 No. 1 in E flat major (01:23)
2 No. 2 in C major (02:54)
3 No. 3 in E minor (02:14)
4 No. 4 in E flat minor (03:05)
5 No. 5 in D minor (04:41)
6 No. 6 in C sharp minor (02:00)
7 No. 7 in D flat major (02:56)
8 No. 8 in B flat major (02:13)
9 No. 9 in F sharp major (02:51)
10 No. 10 in E major (01:26)
11 No. 11 in F sharp minor (03:16)
12 No. 12 in F minor (01:36)
13 No. 13 in A major (03:09)
14 No. 14 in B flat minor (01:21)
15 No. 15 in D minor (03:50)
16 No. 16 in F major (02:16)
17 No. 17 in B major (01:15)
18 No. 18 in G minor (02:10)

19 No. 19 in G sharp minor (02:54)
20 No. 20 in A flat major (02:52)
21 No. 21 in C minor (01:55)
22 No. 22 in G major (03:02)
23 No. 23 in E flat minor (02:43)
24 No. 24 in B minor (02:42)


  World Première Recordings  


Mikael Ayrapetyan was born in 1984 in Yerevan, where he had his early schooling. In 2004 he entered the Moscow Tchaikovsky State Conservatory. As a student, he paid great attention to the work of Armenian composers whose music had not until then been performed. Graduating in 2009, he continued postgraduate study at the Moscow Conservatory. His repertoire ranges from the baroque to the contemporary and includes rarely performed works of Armenian composers.

G674   GP652   GP639   GP664
"Here is more extremely good and fulfilling work done by Grand Piano with a well documented and recorded recital played to the manner born by Hayk Melikyan."
MusicWeb International
  "…Bulgarian pianist Viktor Valkov plays with technical accomplishment, aplomb and a real sense of attunement to this music of his homeland."
  "Blumina…renders all with unerring poise, making this disc now the preferred option by which to encounter the piano music of a composer whose thinking transcends time and place in
equal measure."

International Record Review
  "performances highly pleasing and of excellent clarity"
David's Review Corner

For enquiries contact info@grandpianorecords.com
Visit us on

℗ & © 2014 Naxos Rights US, Inc.