Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Opera Libretti

Opera Libretti

Beethoven | Bellini | Berg | Berlioz | Bizet | Cavalieri | Cavalli | Clerambault | Debussy | Donizetti | Falla | Gluck | Gounod | Granados | Hallstrom | Handel | Hartke | Haydn | Kalman | Leoncavallo | Mascagni | Massenet | Mercadante | Meyerbeer | Monteverdi | Mozart | Pacius | Petitgirard | Portugal | Puccini | Purcell | Rachmaninov | Rossini | Sacchini | Strauss Johann II | Verdi | Wagner Richard | Wagner Siegfried | Walton | Weber
Die Zauberflote
Act 1 Scene I
Act 1 Scene II
Act 1 Scene III
Act 2 Scene I
Act 2 Scene II
Act 2 Scene III
Act 2 Scene IV
Act 2 Scene V
Act 2 Scene VI
Act 2 Scene VII
Act 2 Scene VIII
Act 2 Scene IX
Act 2 Scene X

Die Zauberflöte, K. 620

Oper in zwei Aufzügen Music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Text by Emanuel Schikaneder and Carl Ludwig Giesecke

Principal Roles

TAMINO, an Egyptian prince (Tenor)
THREE LADIES, servants of the QUEEN OF THE NIGHT (Sopranos, or Soprano, Mezzo-soprano, and Contralto)
PAPAGENO, a birdcatcher (Baritone)
MONOSTATOS, a Moor, a servant of SARASTRO (Tenor)
PAMINA, daughter of the QUEEN OF THE NIGHT (Soprano)
THREE SPIRITS (Sopranos, or Soprano, Soprano, and Mezzo-soprano)
TWO PRIESTS (Baritones)
OLD PRIEST (Baritone)
SARASTRO, high priest of Isis and Osiris (Bass)
OLD WOMAN (later PAPAGENA) (Soprano)
TWO MEN IN ARMOR (Tenor and Bass)
SPEAKER (Speaking part)
THREE SLAVES of SARASTRO (Speaking parts)
CHORUS of priests. slaves, others
The action takes place in legendary times, in and around the Temple of Isis and Osiris, and in the realm of the QUEEN OF THE NIGHT.


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group