Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search

This month's bumper crop of new releases featuring great guitar music offers a choice of solos, duets and concertos with orchestra, performed by some of the instrument's greatest exponents - Pepe Romero, Vicente Coves, José Antonio Escobar, Dale Kavanagh and Thomas Kirchhoff.

Take your pick – better still pick all three – sit back and enjoy!

  MORENO TORROBA, F.: Guitar Concertos, Vol. 1 - Concierto en flamenco / Diálogos
Pepe Romero, V. Coves, Málaga Philharmonic, M. Coves

Pepe Romero
An outstanding figure in the history of modern Spanish music, Federico Moreno Torroba is best known for his guitar works, his traditional style embracing the folklore and character of Spain. The Concierto en Flamenco requires an exceptional soloist, and Pepe Romero is justly famous for his masterful interpretations in both classical and flamenco genres. The playful Diálogos entre guitarra y orquesta adds the luminous sonorities of harp and celesta to its colourful orchestration. Aires de La Mancha is evocative of this distinctive region in central Spain, while the Suite castellana includes Torroba’s first ever composition for guitar, Danza. This is the first of three volumes of Torroba’s complete works for guitar and orchestra.

Listen to an extract from Torroba's
Concierto en Flamenco
played by Pepe Romero: IV. Bulerias

Listen to an extract from Torroba's
Diálogos entre guitarra y orquesta
played by Vicente Coves: III. Andante

  Through the Centuries

Amadeus Guitar Duo

Over the last 25 years the Amadeus Guitar Duo have consistently proved to be one of the world’s most exploratory and admired ensembles. Through their many international tours, recordings, and the symposium they established at Iserlohn in Germany, they have extended the repertoire for the duo and for guitar duo with orchestra. In this release, their inaugural one for Naxos, the programme ranges across the centuries from the magnificent arrangement of Handel’s Suite in G minor, HV 432, through music by the nineteenth-century guitar composer Johann Kaspar Mertz, to contemporary works including the brilliant and virtuosic Fantasie d’oriente e d’occidente by Carlo Domeniconi, which was given its world première by the duo.

Listen to an extract from Georg Philipp Telemann's Partita polonaise: Rigaudon

  Guitar Music (Colombia) - MEJÍA, A. / MONTAÑA, G. / SABOYA, L. / GONZÁLEZ, H.

Colombia’s thriving cultural heritage derives from Spanish, African and Amerindian elements. The rich blend of colour and rhythmic vitality found in the synthesis of dance forms and styles, notably the sharply accented Andean bambuco (‘pursuit dance’), the flowing, graceful pasillo and the traditional, rhythmic guabina, recurs throughout this programme. Poignant expressiveness and intricate virtuosity are features of Montaña’s two Suites. Saboya’s Suite Ernestina includes characteristically South American melodies and rhythms, while Caribbean rhythmic patterns are recreated in González’s Preludio. José Antonio Escobar’s Guitar Music of Chile (Naxos 8.570341) was described as “absolutely stunning” by MusicWeb International.

Listen to an extract from Gentil Montana's Suite Colombiana No. 3: I. La Cancion del Sonador (Pasillo)

Click here to access the complete Naxos
catalogue of music for lute and guitar.

Recommended discs from the Naxos Guitar Laureate Series

Rafael Aguirre
2010 'Alhambra' International Guitar Competition

“Virtuosity, sensuality,
tenderness, and razzle-dazzle—it’s all there to enjoy.”
- MusicWeb International

Lazhar Cherouana
2012 Michele Pittaluga Competition

“His Rameau is electrifying.”
- American Record Guide

Jérémy Jouve
2003 Guitar Foundation of America Competition

“The execution is
beyond reproach."
- MusicWeb International

Irina Kulikova
2008 'Alhambra' International Guitar Competition

“She has technique to spare, but never uses it as an end in itself. Her playing is a joy to hear.”
- American Record Guide

Florian Larousse
2009 Guitar Foundation of America Competition

“Larousse has a thorough technique, elegant phrasing, and an exquisite sound.”
- American Record Guide

Rovshan Mamedkuliev
2012 Guitar Foundation of America Competition

“An impressive debut from an accomplished all-rounder.”
- Classical Guitar Magazine

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group