Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search

“For me, Hosokawa brings together two different universes: one steeped in the culture and religion of Japan, and the other taking full advantage of the techniques available to modern composers and of the range of  “western” musical instruments.  As a result he produces inspirational new sounds which appeal to the listener not merely on acoustic grounds. Hosokawa manages to create a new musical language, and one which also has a fundamentally philosophical and spiritual basis.”

- Jun Märkl, conductor

Naxos 8.573276

HOSOKAWA, Toshio: Orchestral Works, Vol. 2
Woven Dreams* / Blossoming II / Circulating Ocean*

Royal Scottish National Orchestra
Orchestre National de Lyon, Jun Märkl


Toshio Hosokawa is one of Japan’s most eminent living composers. The first volume in this series devoted to his orchestral works (8.573239) explores the idea of the blossoming lotus—“music as plant-like development and growth”—and continues here with Blossoming II for chamber orchestra. Woven Dreams traces the journey from womb to birth by employing techniques drawn from Gagaku, the ancient Japanese court music. Of Circulating Ocean the composer writes: “I am attempting to express in sound the flow and change of water… The ocean is for me the birthplace of life, a being possessed of infinite depth and expanse.”

Listen to an extract from
Toshio Hosokawa's Woven Dreams

About the Artists

Jun Märkl was music director of the Orchestre National de Lyon from 2005 to 2011 and chief conductor of the MDR Leipzig Radio Symphony until 2012. In recognition of his tenure in Lyon and his very successful nine-disc Debussy cycle with the orchestra on Naxos (8.509002), in 2012 he was honoured by the French Ministry of Culture with the Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. He has performed and given premières of many of Hosakawa’s works, including Lotus under the moonlight (Naxos 8.573239) with pianist Momo Kodama in 2006.

Offspring of the Société des Grands Concerts de Lyon, founded in 1905, the Orchestre National de Lyon became a permanent orchestra with 102 musicians in 1969, with Louis Frémaux as its first musical director.  Since then, the orchestra has continued to increase in artistic stature and to receive international critical acclaim. Leonard Slatkin has been its music director since the 2011–2012 season.

Companion discs

Toshio Hosokawa
Orchestral Works, Vol. 1

“...Märkl responds unreservedly, drawing magically delicate colours and rich textural intricacies
from what is a profoundly
attractive score.”

Toshio Hosokawa
Flute Music

“Hosokawa’s highly personal, sincere and honest and as such repays repeated hearings.”
MusicWeb International

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group