Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search

“Many consider Daphnis et Chloé to be Ravel’s masterpiece, but that can be said of so many of this composer’s works. However, Daphnis stands as the exemplar of orchestral writing during the early part of the twentieth century. With its exotic story, incredible orchestration and concise musical ideas, this work is a joy from start to finish. Pairing it with the lesser-heard Une barque sur l’océan, we have a window into how Ravel utilizes his orchestral forces in a smaller-scale piece.”

Leonard Slatkin, conductor

RAVEL, M.: Orchestral Works, Vol. 4 - Daphnis et Chloé / Une barque sur l'océan
Maurice RAVEL (1875–1937)
Daphnis et Chloé*
Une barque sur l’océan

Orchestre National de Lyon
Leonard Slatkin

Composed for Sergey Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes, Ravel’s ‘symphonie chorégraphique’ Daphnis et Chloé is based on a classical Greco-Roman love story set on the island of Lesbos. He described the work as ‘a vast musical fresco’, and with its extraordinarily passionate music, lush harmonies and orchestration, is considered both his masterpiece and the epitome of Impressionism in music. Orchestrated from the third of his Miroirs for piano, Ravel’s Une barque sur l’océan is an evocative portrayal of the ever-changing moods of the sea.

Buy Now
Listen to an excerpt from Daphnis et Chloé:
Danse suppliante de Chloé

Listen to Raymond Bisha's podcast
about this release

About the Artists
Leonard Slatkin
Leonard Slatkin is Music Director of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra (DSO) and the Orchestre National de Lyon (ONL). He also maintains a rigorous schedule of guest conducting throughout the world and is active as a composer, author and educator. Slatkin’s 100-plus recordings have received seven GRAMMY® awards and 64 nominations. His Naxos recordings include works by Saint-Saëns, Ravel and Berlioz (with the ONL) and music by Copland, Rachmaninov, Borzova, McTee and John Williams (with the DSO).
Spirito was established in 2014, formed from two independent bodies, the Choruses and Soloists of Lyon (directed by Bernard Tétu) and the Britten Chorus (directed by Nicole Corti). Spirito is supported by the Ministry of Culture and Communication (Drac Rhône-Alpes), the Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, the city of Lyon and the Metropolitan Region of Lyon, and by the Society of Authors, Composers and Publishers (SACEM), Spedidam, Adami and FCM.
Orchestre National de Lyon
Offspring of the Société des Grands Concerts de Lyon, founded in 1905, the Orchestre National de Lyon (ONL) became a permanent orchestra with 102 musicians in 1969, with Louis Frémaux as its first musical director (1969-1971). The orchestra has been subsequently run and supported financially by the City of Lyon, which provided it with a concert hall, the Lyon Auditorium, in 1975. Leonard Slatkin has been musical director since September 2011.
Previous releases in Leonard Slatkin and the ONL’s Ravel cycle
Orchestral Works, Vol. 1
Alborada del gracioso /
Rapsodie espagnole

Orchestre National de Lyon, Slatkin
“Vivid sound from the Lyon players, with a wide range of dynamics and colours”
BBC Music Magazine ★★★★★
Buy now
Orchestral Works, Vol. 2
Valses nobles et sentimentales /
Gaspard de la nuit

Orchestre National de Lyon, Slatkin
“Slatkin and the orchestra play every note with a welcome degree of expression.”
American Record Guide
Buy now
Orchestral Works, Vol. 3 - Orchestrations

Orchestre National de Lyon, Slatkin
“Slatkin’s conducting is inventive and the orchestral playing gorgeous.”
Buy now
Enfant et les
sortilèges (L') /
Ma mère l'oye

Hébrard, Galou,
Pasturaud, Fouchécourt,
Orchestre National de Lyon, Slatkin
“Slatkin leads a lively and idiomatic performance with a fine cast”
Musical Toronto
Buy now
Heure espagnole (L') [Opera] / Don Quichotte à Dulcinée

Lombardo, Druet,
Antoun, Le Roux,
Orchestre National de Lyon, Slatkin
“Slatkin conducts with admirable delicacy, with a nice attention to detail.”
Buy now

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group