Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search

The Catalan composer Antonio Soler (1729–1783) received his early musical education in Montserrat. In 1752 he joined the Jeronymite order at the Escorial, where he became maestro de capilla. He studied with Domenico Scarlatti in Madrid, subsequently courting controversy with his book on modulation, Llave de la modulación (Key to Modulation). His interest in the theory and history of music was coupled with an enthusiasm for other branches of learning, including mathematics. He was also employed as a consultant on the construction of new organs.

This release is Vol. 7 of our Complete Soler Keyboard Sonatas Edition, performed on the modern piano.

SOLER, A.: Keyboard Sonatas Nos. 67–74
Antonio SOLER (1729–1783)
Keyboard Sonatas Nos. 67–74

Regina Chernychko, Piano

Antonio Soler’s training as a chorister, organist and composer equipped the young Catalan for the prestigious position of maestro di capilla at the Escorial palace. Here he was strongly influenced by Domenico Scarlatti in his writing of keyboard sonatas for the young prince Don Gabriel, son of Carlos III. The inventive and ingenious works heard in this volume of the complete set of sonatas reveal his command of the medium, from the fugal brilliance of No. 67 in D major and the virtuoso elements of No. 69 in F major to the delightfully Spanish flavour encountered in No. 74 in D major.

Listen to an extract from
Keyboard Sonata No. 69 in F major

Listen to Raymond Bisha's podcast
about this release

About the Artist
Regina Chernychko
Regina Chernychko was awarded first prize at the 60th Maria Canals International Piano Competition in Barcelona, and is the winner of several other international piano competitions. Having made her debut with orchestra at the age of seven, she has since performed throughout Europe, appearing with numerous orchestras including the Orchestra Sinfonica di Roma e del Lazio, Orkest van het Oosten, National Symphony Orchestra of Belarus, Real Orquesta Sinfónica de Sevilla, Baden-Baden Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra, Bruckner Orchester Linz and the Staatsorchester Stuttgart, among others.
Previous releases in the Soler Complete Keyboard Sonatas edition
“Filjak’s playing is crisp and clean, so all the details of the music come through, and the fine qualities of her playing are clearly heard in Naxos’ focused reproduction.”
  Listen to Keyboard Sonata No. 31 in G major
“The great range of colors and dynamics possible on the piano greatly enhance and complement the virtuosic and harmonically adventurous sonatas of Antonio Soler. Shimkus brings an attractive lyricism, a light touch, and a healthy dose of playfulness to Soler’s music.”
American Record Guide
  Listen to an extract from
Keyboard Sonata No. 60
in C Major:
II. Allegro vivo
“While his playing is sensitive and stylish with regard to ornaments and phrasing, Borowiak is not afraid to exploit the modern concert grand’s dynamic range and potential for tone color. The intimate yet full bodied sonics are remarkably lifelike, as if Borowiak is working his magic just a few feet away from you.”
  Listen to an extract from
Keyboard Sonata No. 64 in G major:
III. Intento a 4

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group