Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
Mariusz Smolij © Evin Thayer

“The music of Eugene Zádor brings together, almost in a perfect way, the new and the old musical worlds. While rooted in old European tradition and strongly influenced by the unique Hungarian folk music, it also offers new colors and harmonies and the musical perspective of a modern 20th-century composer working in Hollywood. I find those qualities fascinating and would like to reintroduce all the forgotten works by this first-class composer. His output clearly deserves to be known to every music lover around the world.”

Mariusz Smolij, conductor

ZÁDOR, E.: Plains of Hungary (The) / Fantasia Hungarica / Variations on a Merry Theme
Eugene ZÁDOR (1894–1977)
The Plains of Hungary
Fantasia Hungarica *
Variations on a Merry Theme • Rhapsodies

Zsolt Fejérvári, Double Bass* • Kálmán Balogh, Cimbalom
Budapest Symphony Orchestra MÁV • Mariusz Smolij


In the last two decades of his career Eugene Zádor, whose music fused Classicism with Romanticism to universal acclaim, wrote a series of works that reflected his Hungarian roots. Subtly flavoured by folklore without any direct quotations, Zádor’s facility for melody, harmony and colour is exemplified in the Rhapsody for Orchestra, while his gift for lyricism and pithy concision is to the fore in the Fantasia Hungarica for double bass and orchestra. The Rhapsody for Cimbalom and Orchestra reveals his ceaselessly inventive imagination in music that is orchestrated with the deftest touch.

Listen to an extract from
Rhapsody for Orchestra

Listen to Raymond Bisha's podcast
about this release

About the Artists
Mariusz Smolij © Evin Thayer
Polish conductor Mariusz Smolij has led over 120 orchestras on four continents. He is the founding member of the Penderecki String Quartet, former artistic director of the Lutosławski Philharmonic Orchestra, Wrocław, and the International Festival Wratislavia Cantans, Poland, and currently serves as music director of the Acadiana Symphony in Louisiana, the Riverside Symphonia in New Jersey and the Toruń Symphony Orchestra in Poland.
Budapest Symphony Orchestra MÁV © Zsuzsanna Rózsa
The Budapest Symphony Orchestra MÁV was founded in 1945 by the Hungarian State Railways. Since then, it has developed a wide-ranging repertoire from music of the Baroque era to works by contemporary composers, and is currently ranked among the best professional ensembles in Hungary. The orchestra has performed widely throughout Europe and beyond.
Previous releases in the Zádor Orchestral Works series
“The whole program is performed with admirable dedication from Mariusz Smolij
and the Budapest SO MÁV. Zádor could not have asked for more enthusiastic advocates
of his music.”
  Listen to an extract from
Fugue Fantasia
“Polish conductor Mariusz Smolij elicits rousing performances from the Budapest MÁV Symphony Orchestra that turn what might otherwise come off as ordinary fare into a memorable listening experience.”
Classical Lost and Found
  Listen to an extract from
Variations on a Hungarian Folksong:
Var. 6: Tempo di Foxtrot
Divertimento • Elegie and Dance
Oboe Concerto • Studies for Orchestra

Hadady • Budapest Symphony
Orchestra MÁV • Smolij
“The performances are excellent. The orchestra plays with enthusiasm;
this is quality music that’s evidently
a lot of fun to play.”
  Listen to an extract from Studies:
III. Capriccioso
“Mariusz Smolij and the Budapest Symphony continue to show an affinity for these pieces with committed performances. The performances are wonderfully captured in a good overall sound.”
  Listen to an extract from 5 Contrasts:
III. Fantasy: Poco vivo

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group