Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

Podcast: Tower of strength

May 23, 2015

Based in the United States, Joan Tower is one of today’s most successful composers. A 2007 Naxos release of her orchestral music (8.559328) won 3 GRAMMY awards. Rick Phillips introduces the latest disc to feature three more of her fascinating and varied compositions for orchestra: Stroke, the Violin Concerto and Chamber Dance. Tower’s flexible style gives hints of the numerous influences on her colourful imagination, from the rhythmic drive of her native South America to more impressionistic tones.

TOWER Violin Concerto, Stroke, Chamber Dance
Cho-Liang Lin, Nashville Symphony, Guerrero

Listen to the podcast

Listen to more podcasts on the Naxos Blog


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group