Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

Podcast: Aaron Copland. Martha Graham. Ruth Page. A balletic major triad.

September 9, 2016

Raymond Bisha presents two ballet scores by Aaron Copland: one woefully little known; one a beloved staple of dance companies. The jazz-influenced Hear Ye! Hear Ye! (1934) narrates the scenario of a nightclub murder and the ensuing trial in a Chicago courtroom. Highlighting life at the violent edge of American society, the work’s original choreography was by Ruth Page, who went on to become the Grande Dame of American ballet. In complete contrast, Appalachian Spring (1944) is Copland’s most internationally celebrated work. Inspired by a story created by the legendary dancer and choreographer Martha Graham, the score draws on a wealth of American folk music for its material.

COPLAND Appalachian Spring / Hear Ye! Hear Ye!
Detroit Symphony, Slatkin

Listen to the podcast

Listen to more podcasts on the Naxos Blog


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group