Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

Podcast: Shostakovich. 2 popular piano concertos. 1 new transcription.

January 6, 2017

Time and again, Dmitri Shostakovich deftly managed to dodge the artistic bullet when it came to the expected political conformity of the day. His two piano concertos bear his distinctive musical voice, despite Soviet diktats. Cheeky banter and effervescence characterise the works, offset by a sublime movement in the second concerto that soloist Boris Giltburg describes as “a rare instance of Shostakovich without a mask.” Giltburg’s own transcription for piano of Shostakovich’s Eighth String Quartet adds a beautiful bonus to the programme.

SHOSTAKOVICH Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 2
Giltburg, Owens, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Petrenko

Listen to the podcast

Listen to more podcasts on the Naxos Blog


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group