Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

Podcast: 3 new concertos. 1 original composer. Michael Daugherty.

March 2, 2018

Michael Daugherty is one of today’s leading American composers. Previous Naxos recordings of his works have received no fewer than seven GRAMMY® awards. His latest release features three recently completed concertos, respectively for flute, tuba and percussion. The programme boasts a rare line-up of female soloists and a release date that coincides with Women’s History Month and International Women’s Day (March 8). Trail of Tears describes the five-month forced march of the Cherokee in 1838-39 with flautist Amy Porter as soloist; Dreamachine pays tribute to the imagination of inventors and their real or surreal machines and features world-renowned percussionist Dame Evelyn Glennie; while Reflections on the Mississippi evokes memories of family excursions and presents soloist Carol Jantch, principal tuba of the Philadelphia Orchestra and the first female to hold such a prestigious orchestral position.

Michael Daugherty - Dreamachine / Trail of tears / Reflections on the Mississippi
DAUGHERTY Dreamachine / Trail of Tears / Reflections on the Mississippi
Glennie, Porter, Jantsch, Albany Symphony, Miller

Listen to the podcast

Listen to more podcasts on the Naxos Blog




Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group