Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

Podcast: ‘Rach 3’. The Mount Everest of piano concertos.

May 18, 2018

Raymond Bisha helps turn the pages of Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto, following the release of Boris Giltburg’s fine performance of the work with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto. Noted for its length and technical difficulty,
‘Rach 3’ (its popular moniker) is reckoned to have more notes than all of Mozart’s piano concertos put together. Boris Giltburg shows how Rachmaninov’s gift as a story-teller in music reaches a high point in the work, unfolding a narrative tapestry equal to that of a great novel.

Rachmaninov - Piano Concerto No. 3 / Variations on a Theme of Corelli
RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No. 3 / Variations on a Theme of Corelli
Giltburg, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Prieto

Listen to the podcast

Listen to more podcasts on the Naxos Blog




Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group