Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

Myroslav Skoryk (1938–2020)

June 2, 2020

Myroslav Skoryk

All at Naxos were sad to note the passing on 1 June of the Ukrainian composer Myroslav Skoryk.

Born in Lviv in 1938, Myroslav Skoryk graduated from the Lviv Conservatory as a composer and musicologist before studying at the graduate school of the Moscow Conservatory in the class taught by Dmitry Kabalevsky. Throughout his career he taught and influenced many famous Ukrainian composers and was subsequently recognised with the titles of People’s Artist of Ukraine, Chevalier of the Order of Merit, and Hero of Ukraine.

Myroslav Skoryk leaves behind an extensive catalogue of works in all genres. His numerous concertos include nine for violin, three for piano, two for cello, one for viola and one for oboe. A number of these are represented on three recordings in the Naxos catalogue, in which the composer was acknowledged as “a distinctive voice” ( who produced “works full of strong, idiomatic writing” (The Whole Note) that are “effective, varied and truly remarkable.” (Pizzicato)

We share the sadness of his passing with his family, friends and beneficiaries of his music.

SKORYK, M.: Carpathian Concerto • Diptych • Violin Concerto No. 7 • Cello Concerto
Pilatyuk, Kazakov, Odessa Philharmonic, Earle

SKORYK, M.: Complete Violin Concertos, Vol. 1 – Nos. 1–4
Bielow, Ukraine National Symphony, Sirenko

SKORYK, M.: Complete Violin Concertos, Vol. 2 – Nos. 5–9
Bielow, Ukraine National Symphony, Sirenko


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group