Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

More Stokowski

September 22, 2008

Conductor José Serebrier and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra have completed their series of Stokowski’s transcriptions for Naxos. The final sessions included Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D minor, the Chaconne in D minor and the Chorale Prelude “Christ lag in Todesbanden”. The team’s previous releases are of more Bach transcriptions, Mussorgsky transcriptions and Wagner “Symphonic Syntheses”, the latter commended by Gramophone’s Edward Greenfield as “thrilling performances, passionate in a genuinely Stokowskian manner and treated to orchestral sound of demonstration quality”.

- Gramophone, September 2008


MUSSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition (orchestrations compiled by Slatkin)/LISZT: Piano Concerto No. 1
Peng Peng, piano
Nashville Symphony Chorus; Nashville Symphony Orchestra
Slatkin, Leonard

Other Stokowski Transcriptions recordings also available:

5.110101 (DVD) MUSSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition/Boris Godunov
6.110101 MUSSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition/Boris Godunov
8.111297 BACH: Stokowski Transcriptions (1927-1939)
8.557645 MUSSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition/Boris Godunov
8.557883 BACH/PURCELL/HANDEL: Stokowski Transcriptions
8.570293 WAGNER: Symphonic Syntheses by Stokowski


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group