Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Ranks Among the Best

December 14, 2008

When Vasily Petrenko became the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra’s principal conductor in 2006, he became the youngest person to hold the position in its 165-year history. With his appointment, an ensemble with a distinguished pedigree of principal conductors—including Sir Charles Hallé, Sir Henry Wood and Sir Malcolm Sargent—cemented its commitment to promoting classical music as a valid artform for contemporary audiences.

- Gramophone, World’s Greatest Orchestras, December 2008

Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra’s Naxos recordings have garnered critical acclaim:

TCHAIKOVSKY: Manfred Symphony /
The Voyevoda (8.570568)

4 STARS – The Times
4 STARS – The Sunday Times
4 STARS – The Sunday Telegraph
4 STARS – The Guardian
“This is essential listening” – The Daily Telegraph

LISZT: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 / Totentanz (8.570517)

Pianist Eldar “Nebolsin is happy to share the stage with a Royal Liverpool Philharmonic which is in superb form for their Russian conductor, Vasily Petrenko. They are on equal terms in those moments where Liszt creates smooth lyric passages, with the many solo orchestral moments confirming the outstanding quality of Liverpool’s principals. The engineers have created a natural concert hall balance between soloist and orchestra.”
- David Denton  

Vassily Petrenko and the RLPO have just embarked on a new cycle of Shostakovich’s Symphonies for Naxos.


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group