^ Back to Top
^ Back to Discography
Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search


The Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1882 and is widely considered to be one of the world’s leading orchestras. In 1887 Hans von Bülow became its chief conductor and in this period musical giants such as Gustav Mahler and Richard Strauss conducted the orchestra. In 1923 Wilhelm Furtwängler became chief conductor and this was the beginning of a legendary partnership that lasted until Furtwängler’s death in 1954. From 1955 until 1989 Herbert von Karajan was the orchestra’s chief conductor making many important recordings for Deutsche Gramophon. The orchestra is a self-governing public foundation and Sir Simon Rattle is the current chief conductor. The following members of the orchestra are featured in the recording David Robert Coleman’s Starry Night (Naxos 9.70202): Andreas Blau, Michael Hasel, Alvaro Octavio Diaz, Olaf Ott, Götz Teutsch, David Riniker, Rudolf Watzel, Jan Schlichte, Frank Schindlbeck and Fredi Müller. The recording of Starry Night was made at a chamber music concert of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra in the small hall of the Berlin Philharmonie in 2002.

Role: Ensemble 
Album Title  Catalogue No  Work Category 

 View Albums

Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group