^ Back to Top
^ Back to Discography
Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search


The Michael Thompson Wind Quintet came into existence in 1992, when Barry Tuckwell announced he was leaving the Quintet that had previously carried his name.

The Members of the Quintet:

Michael Thompson was appointed Principal Horn of the Philharmonia at the age of 21, but resigned in 1985 to pursue a solo career.

Jonathan Snowden became Principal Flute of the London Philharmonic Orchestra in 1985 after holding the same position with Opera North and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

Derek Wickens, a founder member of the Barry Tuckwell Wind Quintet, was Principal Oboe with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for eighteen years, and since 1981 has held the same place in the Opera Nationale in Brussels, a position that allows him time for solo engagements.

Robert Hill is Principal Clarinet of the London Philharmonic Orchestra, and has performed widely with the London Sinfonietta and the Nash Ensemble.

John Price began his orchestral career as Principal Bassoon of the Ulster Orchestra, and moved to take that role in the London Philharmonic in 1997.

The Quintet began an extensive series of recordings for Naxos in 1994 which include music by Franz Danzi, Anton Reicha, Franz Krommer together with more rarely-heard twentieth century works by Hindemith, Barber, Larsson and Janacek in which "The Thompson Quintet captures every pleasing moment" according to the American Record Guide.


Role: Ensemble 
Album Title
Catalogue No  Work Category 
HAUFF, W.: Kalte Herz (Das) Naxos Hörbucher
Chamber Music
KELLER, G.: Frau Regel Amrain und ihr Jungster Naxos Hörbucher
Chamber Music
REICHA: Wind Quintets, Op. 88, No. 5 and Op. 91, No. 1 Naxos
Chamber Music

 View Albums

Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group