^ Back to Top
^ Back to Discography
Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search


The Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra is recognised as the leading orchestra in the Tokai region, the central part of Japan. In April 2013, British conductor Martyn Brabbins was appointed chief conductor.

Musicians from the city of Nagoya and the surrounding area founded the Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra in July 1966. The first subscription concert delighted the audience in October of 1967. Subsequently, the orchestra received an endowment from the city of Nagoya in 1973. Over the years, the orchestra expanded its repertoire and improved the quality of its performances under the batons of various music directors and chief conductors, namely Hiroyuki Iwaki (music director, 1971–73), Yoshikazu Fukumura (chief conductor, 1971–74), Tadashi Mori (music director, 1974–80), Shunji Aratani (chief conductor, 1974–80), Yuzo Toyama (music director & chief conductor, 1981–87), Moshe Atzmon (chief conductor, 1987–93), Taijiro Iimori (chief conductor, 1993–98), Ken’ichiro Kobayashi (music director, 1998–2003), Ryusuke Numajiri (chief conductor, 2003–06) and Thierry Fischer (chief conductor, 2008–11).

The Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra, now in its 50th year, performs about 120 concerts a year.

Role: Orchestra 
Album Title
Catalogue No  Work Category 

 View Albums

Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group