^ Back to Top
^ Back to Discography
Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search


The Poznań Philharmonic Orchestra, one of the leading Polish orchestras, was founded by Tadeusz Szeligowski, a composer and its first director. The opening concert was held on 10 November 1947 under the baton of the ensemble’s first conductor, Stanisław Wisłocki. Marek Pijarowski has been chief conductor since the 2007/2008 season. The ensemble has performed with such illustrious conductors as Hermann Abendroth, George Georgescu, Zdeněk Mácal, Jerzy Maksymiuk, Stanisław Skrowaczewski, Antoni Wit and Carlo Zecchi, as well as with outstanding soloists, including Martha Argerich, Piotr Beczała, Rafał Blechacz, Ida Haendel, Aleksandra Kurzak, Garrick Ohlsson, David and Igor Oistrakh, Emmanuel Pahud, Maurizio Pollini, Julian Rachlin, Samuel Ramey, Vadim Repin, Svyatoslav Richter, Mstislav Rostropovich, Arthur Rubinstein and Krystian Zimerman.

The orchestra has toured throughout Europe and given concerts at numerous international music festivals. Since 1952 the ensemble has accompanied the finalists of the Henryk Wieniawski International Violin Competitions in Poznań. A number of contemporary Polish and foreign composers have entrusted the orchestra with first performances of their compositions.

© Antoni Hoffmann
Role: Orchestra 
Album Title
Catalogue No  Work Category 

 View Albums

Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group