^ Back to Top
^ Back to Discography
Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search


The Real Filharmonía de Galicia, based in Santiago de Compostela, was established in 1996 and is made up of fifty musicians from different countries. It has been been led by associate conductor Maximino Zumalave since its inception, Helmuth Rilling, its first principal conductor, from 1996 to 2000, and Antoni Ros Marbà, who has broadened the orchestra’s international repertoire as well as including works by Galician composers. Paul Daniel has been principal conductor since 2013. It has collaborated with great musicians including the violinists Peter Zimmermann, Daniel Hope and Vadim Repin, the cellists Natalia Gutman, Lluís Claret and Enrico Dindo, the pianists Joaquín Achúcarro, Rudolf Buchbinder and Eldar Nebolsin, and singers, including Teresa Berganza, Thomas Quatshoff and Matthias Goerne. The orchestra has been conducted by prestigious conductors, including Frans Brüggen, Juanjo Mena, David Afkham, Hansjörg Schellenberger, Josep Pons and Christoph König. Highlights of the orchestra’s recordings are releases dedicated to Manuel de Falla and Frederic Mompou (2009) and to Maurice Ravel (2012). Its album Variaciones (2013), featuring soprano María Bayo, is a tribute to Antón García Abril.

Real Filharmonia de Galicia

Role: Orchestra 
Album Title
Catalogue No  Work Category 

 View Albums

Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group